Already on ArticleSlash?

Forgot your password? Sign Up

Stages of Grieving After a Divorce


Visitors: 2,479

If you have just been through a terrible divorce, there are quite a few things that may be running through your head. A divorce can be a difficult situation for anyone to handle. There are 5 stages of grief that most people go through after they have been through a painful divorce.

The first thing that you need to understand about each of these stages is that no everyone will go through them the same way. Each of the stages will be different in every person depending on how that person will react to certain things. The next factor that you should consider is that not everyone will go through all the stages. Some people skip a few of the different stages and spend a longer time on others.

The last thing that you should realize is that the process is not a race. You are the only person who can determine how much time you need in order to get over the whole divorce. The first stage of the grieving process is denial. This stage is usually one of the hardest ones to go through because the person is usually refusing to admit that anything is going on. The person might also refuse to admit that anything is wrong with them at all.

The next stage that anyone might go through after a divorce is the anger stage. This stage can vary depending on how violent or reclusive a person may become during this stage. Usually during this stage, the person is reliving some of the bad moments that may have happened during the marriage. This can be a difficult stage because all the anger that they are harboring might be put onto an innocent bystander.

The third stage of the grieving process after a divorce is what is called the bargaining process. During this process the person will try to get a deal with anyone that will accept their conditions. This step can often be short and combined with either the stage before it or the stage after it.

The next stage of the grieving process is the depression stage. This can be one of the hardest and longest stages. Depression is often the longest stage because of how angry the person became during the stage and the culmination of all the other stages. Depression is the stage that comes with sadness that can not be compared because of the extent that it feels like it fills you up. Depression can often feel like a heavy weight on the persons shoulders that makes them feel like can't survive anymore.

The final stage of the grieving process after a divorce is the most important part of all the stages: Acceptance. Acceptance means that you have come realize that this is really happening and that you need to begin to get on with your life. This doesn't mean that you will be happy by any means with any of the events that have happened but it does mean that you will have come to terms with what has happened.

For more information, contact the Denton Divorce Lawyers of Alexander and Associates at

Joseph Devine


Article Source:

Rate this Article: 
The Journey Through the Grieving Process
Rated 4 / 5
based on 5 votes

Related Articles:

Time is Different When You're Grieving

by: Harriet Hodgson (July 02, 2007) 
(Self Improvement/Grief Loss)

Grieving - Joy Comes in the Mourning

by: Yvonne Perry (May 15, 2007) 
(Self Improvement)

How You Can Help The Grieving After The Funeral

by: Cheryline Lawson (March 18, 2007) 
(Self Improvement)

Grieving Families

by: Julia Sorensen (July 15, 2008) 
(Self Improvement/Grief Loss)

How to Reduce the Stress of Grieving

by: Lou LaGrand (May 03, 2007) 
(Self Improvement)

Grieving is Emotionally Painful

by: DeBorrah Ogans (July 17, 2008) 
(Self Improvement/Grief Loss)

Seven Things You Can Do to Help a Grieving Co-Worker

by: Lou LaGrand (March 18, 2007) 
(Self Improvement)

Remember the Grieving Cats

by: Linda Mohr (June 22, 2008) 

Six Steps to Take When You're Grieving and Cry in Public

by: Harriet Hodgson (April 08, 2008) 
(Self Improvement/Grief Loss)

The Journey Through the Grieving Process

by: JoAnne Funch (June 12, 2008) 
(Self Improvement/Grief Loss)