DUI (driving under influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated) is a serious offence in Florida. It is treated as misdemeanor or traffic crime or even felony in some cases. Driving under the influence of intoxication from alcohol or drugs may result in accidents and is very risky for both the driver as well as other people on the road. Every person who operates a motor vehicle is liable under “implied consent" to take a chemical breath test when suspected of drunk driving by an official. DUI can be proved by impairment of regular faculties. There could be blood tests and urine tests also for determining the levels of alcohol in blood and urine. Refusal to take these tests would result in confiscation of the driving license for a year. Intoxication levels higher than 0.08 (grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath) are unacceptable. DUI comes under the DUI (Driving Under the Influence of Alcoholic Beverages, Chemical Substances or Controlled Substances law s. 316.193, F. S.
Upon conviction of the crime, DUI attracts several kinds of punishments including fine, community service, loss of license, vehicle immobilization and may be even jail term. The fine schedule under DUI is given under s. 316.193(2)(a)-(b), F. S. The fine for the first conviction starts from $250 and may go beyond $500. For blood/breath alcohol levels (BAL) of 0.20 or higher, or for having a minor in the vehicle, a minimum fine of $500 can be imposed. It can go beyond $1000. Second convictions attract a minimum fine of $500, and it can be more than $1000. When the BAL is 0.20 or higher, or if there is a minor in the vehicle, the fine can range from $1000 to $2000 or beyond.
Third conviction (more than 10 years) means a minimum fine of $1000 to $2500 or more. BAL of more than 0.20 or having a minor in the vehicle would mean a fine of not less than $2500. Fourth of subsequent conviction attracts a fine not less than $1000 and $2000 for BAL of 0.20 or having a minor in the vehicle.
50 hours of mandatory community service is also given for first convictions or an additional fine of $10 is slapped on for each hour of community service required.
Florida DUI Attorneys provides detailed information about Florida DUI attorneys, Florida alcohol treatments, Florida DUI and fines, and more. Florida DUI Attorneys is affiliated with Los Angeles County DUI Lawyers .