For many employers, worker's compensation insurance isn't as much of an issue because so many of their employees work at a desk. Sure, there might be some risk of carpal tunnel syndrome, but for the most part desk workers won't get seriously injured from their jobs. But what about employees who work in construction and mining, industries that are quite prevalent in Florida and West Virginia, (respectively)? For them worker's compensation insurance is a necessity.
And, when it comes to West Virginia, the mining industry has been very receptive to the issue. This is largely because in the past West Virginia offered worker's compensation through state-run programs. This made things much easier for employers.
Florida does not have the same track record. According to research done by FIU, approximately 42 percent of all construction workers do not have workman's comp. This is despite the fact that the state has legally mandated the insurance.
Why would so many construction companies skirt the law? Well, in their defense, it's not always a malicious situation. Some businessmen believe that if you hire a subcontractor you don't have to worry about workman's compensation insurance; they believe that's only a requirement for ‘real’ employees. However, when it comes to Florida law, subcontractors must be offered the insurance, even if a company is only working with one at a time.
So, as you can see, quite a few employers in Florida will need to get worker's compensation insurance for their employees or subcontractors. Yet, don't think that West Virginia is out of the picture. In recent times the state has decided to transition to privatized workman's comp programs. This means employers will lose some of the convenience they may have had before with the state-run policies.
But if you happen to be running a company in these states, don't fret because there are plenty of workman's comp plans that are affordable. You just have to find them, a process that isn't too hard thanks to the Internet. All you really need to do is fill out a 2-minute form. After that you will be sent a free quote within minutes.
In fact, you may want to consider doing this even if you're a sole proprietorship. Granted, sole proprietors aren't legally required to have workman's comp on themselves, but if something happens they are given some compensation. West Virginia provides $33, 100, while Florida gives $48,900.
For more information please visit: http://www.shopinsuranceonline.com/