Well, you've always heard that the residents of the Big Apple thrive on being straightforward. Therefore, is it any wonder that New York car insurance companies are the same way? New York might just be one of the strictest states out there when it comes to auto coverage. To put it bluntly, if you don't have insurance, then you can't drive. It really is as black and white as that.
So, if you want to drive, you better look into getting some liability from a New York car insurance company. Your local DMV will require proof that your vehicle is insured. Without proof, both paper and electronic, you might want to get used to walking around town.
New York Auto Insurance Minimum Coverage Requirements
Off the bat, you should know that New York is considered one of the 12 no-fault states. No fault describes an auto insurance system that requires all drivers to carry insurance for their own protection and that sets limitations on their ability to sue other drivers after an accident occurs. Under no fault laws, your New York car insurance provider will pay for your damages (within your policy limits) no matter who was at fault for the accident. The same goes for the other driver.
Concerning liability insurance, the state of New York requires the following minimums:
Uninsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for injury and $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident for death
Property damage: $10,000
Bodily injury: same as uninsured motorist (see above)
Basic no-fault: $50,000
Another thing that differs from other states is that in order to drive in New York, you must be insured by the New York State Insurance Department. This means that an out-of-state company cannot insure you.
Penalties For Not Having New York Car Insurance Coverage
Considering that every NY driver is required to have insurance before their vehicle can be registered, the penalties are less than other states.
Driving an uninsured vehicle in the state of New York could result in a ticket, a fine or vehicle impounding. Having a lapse in insurance or even a lack of insurance is another issue all together.
If your New York car insurance lapses in any way, you can definitely expect some trouble. Your auto insurance provider will keep in contact with the New York DMV concerning your coverage. If you are planning on switching insurance providers, you need to make sure that the new company notifies the DMV as well. If there's a gap of notification concerning this change, you will receive a letter about the issue. If you do receive a request to clear the situation up, do so quickly. Taking too much time to resolve the issue can cost you your vehicle registration and your driver's license.
Your DMV may give you the option to pay penalty fees between $8 and $12 per day as long as your lack of New York car insurance was during a 90 day or less period. You will be required to pay for each day the car was uninsured, therefore, it could be a little costly.
Compare New York Car Insurance Quotes Online
Considering that New Yorkers can only have New York car insurance providers , you can assume that the market is quite competitive. Take your time and shop around for the best fit for you.
Get started comparing New York car insurance quotes today!