When shopping for a New Jersey car insurance quote online, there are state requirements for auto insurance that you need to meet. Here are some things you should know.
New Jersey requires that before you can register a vehicle and get license plates, you need to purchase auto insurance covering the minimum coverages as required by law.
The state of New Jersey requires, at the minimum, that you have a Basic Policy. This policy provides the minimum coverages and is really for those who have few assets and limited income.
The Basic Policy offers an optional $10,000 coverage for Bodily Injury Liability. Remember, without this coverage you are still liable. It also provides $5,000 per accident Property Damage Liability and Personal Injury Protection of $15,000 per person per accident up to $250,000.
You can also get a Standard Policy with a minimum of $15,000 Bodily Injury coverage per person, per accident up to $30,000 for all persons per accident. Property Damage Liability per person is minimum $5,000. Personal Injury Protection is up to $250,000 per person per accident.
Keep in mind that these are the minimums required by New Jersey state law. You still could be financially liable for any costs above those minimum amounts, so you may want to consider raising the limits on these coverages.
When you shop for New Jersey auto insurance quotes, it's good to have this information ready. Since auto insurance costs vary from company to company, you should always get at least three different quotes. By using the same information for each quote, you can get a more accurate comparison.
Scott Lunt is a freelance writer with over 15 years experience writing about car insurance. You can compare New Jersey car insurance quotes and quotes for all other states, plus find more tips on saving on car, home, life, health and long-term care insurance at LowerYourInsurance.com The site also includes a handy worksheet to help you when shopping for car insurance.