Baby adoption regulations and adoption regulations in general vary from State to State. In this article we will try to summarize those regulations that apply to most States.
For all domestic baby adoptions a home study is usually required. This home study evaluates the suitability of a home for the adoption of a new baby. Taking on a new baby is a huge task and it is important that the home is suitable for the infant. Baby adoption regulations therefore usually require a home study done before the child can be adopted.
In most States, any adult, regardless of marital status is allowed to adopt a baby.
Most States also provide some kind of financial support for the birthmother or birth parents during the adoption process, although the financial support given may vary from state to state.
Baby adoption regulations also differ with respect to counseling of birthparents. In some states counseling of birthparents may be required, whereas in others this is not necessary. For example, in Colorado some counseling of birthparents is required although it is not stipulated how long these counseling sessions are to last; In California state adoption agencies will do a minimum of three counseling sessions, whereas private adoption agencies simply need to make birthparents aware of counseling sessions; In Arkansas no regulations are given regarding birthparent counseling.
The baby adoption regulations regarding the right of the birthparent to change its mind regarding adoption is also different from State to State. Arizona does not allow for any change of mind once valid consent has been given; Connecticut allows for the birthparent to change their minds regarding adoption up to the time the court approves the relinquishment of parental rights; In Delaware the parent may change their mind within 14 days of giving consent, after 14 days this needs to be approved by the adoption agency.
The time period when a birthparent may consent to adoption also varies; in general though it seems that consent to adoption may not be given before the child is born, although states such as Alabama do not specify a time when consent may be given.
Due to the fact that baby adoption regulations vary from state to state it is difficult to give much detail regarding laws for specific States in this article. We recommend you look on State government websites, as well as the resources listed below for more information about baby adoption regulations in your own State.
You can also find more information at adoption adoption agency and foster care adoption and ChildAdoptionGuide.org is a comprehensive resource to help couples with the adoption process.