Already on ArticleSlash?

Forgot your password? Sign Up
  Articleslash »
» Spirituality Religion

Spirituality Religion & Book Reviews Article Category 

Articles or Book Reviews about or concerning published works relating to Religion & Religions, Prayer, Spirituality, Religious Texts, Worship, Religious Doctrine, Theology, Priests, Pastors and Churches and anything relating to Spirituality or Religion.
Latest Articles

Create Spinoza book photo with PackshotCreator

by:
 Bissessur Nandita (February 10, 2011)  “All noble things are as difficult as they are rare”- Spinoza Baruch Spinoza, regarded as one of the most important philosophers in Western philosophy, was born in November 1632. With regards to Spinoza’s lifetime achievement in philosophical works, Gilles Deleuze (famous French philosopher) had named Spinoza as the “prince of philosophers”. As a great .. (Spirituality Religion)

The Unfailing Love of God

by:
 John W Simmons (January 15, 2009)  The Bible is a book about Love. It is a Book about God's Love. From cover to cover, in thousands of different scenarios and illustrations, the infinite Love that God has for us is revealed. God's love for us is an unchanging reality that knows no limits, or boundaries. He loves us so much that He wants us to experience the same kind of love for Him, that He has for us. God wants us to .. (Spirituality Religion)

The Universe Compared to Whipped Cream Salad

by:
 Norma Hickox (January 14, 2009)  Yes, there is a God, a powerful, all-pervading energy whose presence is everywhere in everything. It is an energy field filled with thoughts so potent they are dangerous in the wrong hands and used for the wrong purpose. It is all so complicated that one is at a loss as to how to pull it all together for explanation. To explain God in a very simple manner, please picture a whipped .. (Spirituality Religion)

Spaceflights to Earth Began When Planet Cooled

by:
 Norma Hickox (January 14, 2009)  The ball of fire blazing in the distance, which was to become our earth, was visible at all times for hundreds of thousands of years until gradually it began to cool. Many more eons went by before the flights to planet earth began from the Andromeda galaxy. The first day mentioned in the Bible referred to the first ships from the other galaxies. The Andromedans made the first two .. (Spirituality Religion)

The Garden of Eden Was a Nutritional Experiment to Help With Intelligence

by:
 Norma Hickox (January 14, 2009)  Help in the form of nutrition for restructured creation was needed. Up until the time of the sixth day, when the restructuring was done through the chakras, the animal-men were not advanced enough for any nutrition to help with intelligence, but by the time Atlantis was destroyed, the spacemen needed to know if superior nutrition would help create a more thinking, reasoning human; thus .. (Spirituality Religion)

The Crystal of Atlantis Was Made Up of Seven Faceted Rings

by:
 Norma Hickox (January 14, 2009)  The whole universe formed into a crystalline lattice at the time of the big bang. It is in the forming of the lattice that we find the necessary processes to give birth to new creations. Without the ice structure to reflect off of, the initial light would have scattered out into the far reaches of the universe. The forming of the superstructure allowed containment of the light and .. (Spirituality Religion)

Book Review - "God is Not Great" by Christopher Hitchens

by:
 Rich Bordner (January 13, 2009)  Folks say Hitchens is a great writer. Even those who adamantly disagree with him praise his use of rhetoric. In fact, I haven't read one reviewer, Christian or non, who doesn't mention his talent for writing. However, I have to disagree with them. This book is not written well. It is incredibly difficult to figure out exactly what Hitchens is arguing most of the time. When I knew his .. (Spirituality Religion)

The Biology of Belief - Unleashing the Power of Consciousness by Bruce H Lipton

by:
 Cheryl A. Chatfield, Ph.D. (January 12, 2009)  Dr. Lipton claims that our environment, which includes nutrition, emotion and stress, influences our cells. We know that DNA passes on hereditary traits, but he cites research from a new study, epigenetics, that shows gene modification from the environment is also passed on. The author explains the implications of his new information. The world is energy. We can use positive thinking .. (Spirituality Religion)

Review of Taking Back God - American Women Rising Up For Religious Equality

by:
 Lisa Erickson (January 07, 2009)  Taking Back God: American Women Rising Up for Religious Equality is an important book for anyone interested in religion or women's issues.   The author, Leora Tanenbaum, describes herself as an ‘observant Jew’ and clearly cares passionately about her own faith. In this book she interviews women from five different traditions - Catholicism, Evangelical Christianity, Mainline . (Spirituality Religion)

The Mayan Code - Time Acceleration and Awakening the World Mind by Barbara Hand Clow

by:
 Cheryl A. Chatfield, Ph.D. (January 06, 2009)  Clow states that humans were quarantined from the rest of the Universe after the flood of 9500 BCE: Earth is an isolated planet in the midst of an evolving and highly organized interplanetary, intergalactic, and multidimensional universe. . . a member of a collective Universe that functions by universal law, and life was planted here and cultivated under the stewardship of more advanced . (Spirituality Religion)

On God - An Uncommon Conversation By Norman Mailer With Michael Lennon

by:
 Cheryl A. Chatfield, Ph.D. (January 06, 2009)  If you love the work of Norman Mailer, this is a must read. If you do not or are not familiar with him, his conversations will, at the least, make you think. One of my favorite authors, Mailer is a major American writer. On God: An Uncommon Conversation was published shortly before his death in 2008. These comments are, in part, my way of honoring his memory. I am glad he shared his .. (Spirituality Religion)

Joel Osteen Review

by:
 Natalie Shelby (January 05, 2009)  Joel Osteen has become one of the most popular preachers around today. I admit when I first saw him on television, I thought he seemed a little strange. He was always smiling, had a positive attitude and talked about gratitude a lot. One night, when I was up late watching TV, he got my attention while talking about changing how we think in order to attract good things in our lives. I .. (Spirituality Religion)

The Hidden Meaning to Life and Death and Our Spiritual Connection With God, Bliss, and Eternity

by:
 Atman Zaza (January 04, 2009)  We have been born into the human form. We are souled bodies, and our soul is of God, the very essence of God. God has created so many living creatures, but it is only in the human form that we can achieve the purpose of life to know our selves and to know God. Unfortunately, we have forgot that we are souls, and have become so attached to our physical body that we believe we are .. (Spirituality Religion)

The Mystic Path to Cosmic Power by Vernon Howard

by:
 Cheryl A. Chatfield, Ph.D. (January 02, 2009)  Rereading this classic was connecting with an old friend. Many years ago, I wrote out 15 Ways To Gain New Strength from this work, which I taped to my computer stand. When I replaced the book that had disappeared in one of my many moves, I was amazed to see that list as only one small part of the total. The volume itself is a treasure of many of the ideas I have read before but needed .. (Spirituality Religion)

Walking Into the Overflow

by:
 Jennifer Lynn Jackson (December 31, 2008)  On March 23, 2008 I had a vision unlike any others. I woke to a disturbing sound of a ring. I jumped to my feet and walked over to the telephone that sat on my chest, as I reach down, I pause a few seconds, but, there is no sound coming from the telephone. I began to hear a voice, “Wake up, I must tell you something. " I look around, I do not see any faces, none whatsoever. I .. (Spirituality Religion)

No More Words - A Journal of My Mother Anne Morrow Lindbergh by Reeve Lindbergh

by:
 Cheryl A. Chatfield, Ph.D. (December 30, 2008)  For the many of you with an aging parent who requires care, here is an inspirational book. Reeve Lindbergh's style reminds me of her mother's, a soft, gentle use of words that is soothing. She shares the heart-warming, loving, and sad journey of gradually losing a parent. My Mom used to read Anne Morrow Lindbergh's books, and she particularly liked Gift from the Sea, so I felt an .. (Spirituality Religion)

Experience the Presence and Blessings of an Angel Appearing in Human Form

by:
 Joseph Spence, Sr. (December 29, 2008)  On the Wings of Time is an exceptional book, and is stimulating to the mind. This wonderful book is like a diamond shining with actions of a positive nature, which is uplifting and inspiring. Angelo the Angel will make you smile and at times scratch your head regarding his jovial stages of development. He is such a funny, yet wise character. With the proper mentoring and training, he .. (Spirituality Religion)

Book Review - Faith & Doubt, by John Ortberg

by:
 Susan Heim (December 29, 2008)  My pastor is always quoting books by author John Ortberg, so I was really excited when I was offered the chance to review his latest, Faith & Doubt. The topic was especially intriguing because it's one that often stays in the closet. Most of us have probably had doubts about God at one point or another in our lives, but we feel ashamed about lacking faith and often keep it to .. (Spirituality Religion)

Book Review - A High View of Scripture? The Authority and Formation of the New Testament Canon

by:
 Paul Pavao (December 28, 2008)  I often quote from and comment on books that I am reading. Rarely, however, do I purposely do a book review. I want to make an exception for A High View of Scripture? The Authority of the Bible and the Formation of the New Testament Canon from BakerAcademic. This book is a must read for born-again Evangelicals. It is written to Evangelicals by a Bible-believing Evangelical taking an .. (Spirituality Religion)

Taking Charge of Your Destiny by Dr Alan Keiran

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 28, 2008)  Listening for God, Following His Guidance, Taking Charge of Your Destiny "Take Charge of Your Destiny" is written with the intent of providing the reader with the principles and action steps to help them take charge of their destiny. Dr. Alan Keiran, Chief of Staff for the Senate Chaplain transfers on to the pages of this book the fourteen principles and action steps given him by God .. (Spirituality Religion)

Standing on the Shoulders of Giants by Steven Brooks

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 27, 2008)  Practical Recommendations for an Anointed Legacy Steve Brooks opens the teaching of the scriptures on a question of mantles in his book “Standing on the Shoulders of Giants, " This is an area of study, often neglected, important in preparing Christians today as we enter the end-time generation. Steve helps unfold new understanding through Old and New Testament teaching that focus .. (Spirituality Religion)

Ayeka - Where Are You?

by:
 Dr. Harold Elam Jr (December 27, 2008)  Genesis 3:9 And the Lord called unto Adam, and said unto him Where art thou? Where Are You? It is a question asked in Genesis 3:9. Adam and Eve had just eaten some fruit from the forbidden tree and, sensing God's presence in the Garden of Eden, they hid among the trees. While they were hiding, God asked Adam a one-word question. In Hebrew that word is Ayeka? In English it means, "Where . (Spirituality Religion)

The Paradise Puzzle by Ed Jones

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 26, 2008)  Keys to Living a Balanced Spiritual Life "The Paradise Puzzle" is the story of a spiritual journey. Ed Jones describes the steps along the way in finding his way out of a maze of ritual, confusion, and misunderstanding to a life of hope, balance, and fulfillment in his spiritual walk. Jones uses the four themes to help the reader understand the spiritual life. He begins with the .. (Spirituality Religion)

God is Your Matchmaker by Stephanie Herzog

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 24, 2008)  Stephanie Herzog's goal in writing her book “God Is Your Matchmaker" is to revolutionize the reader's preconceived ideas on singleness and marriage. She challenges the church to rise up to Christ's standards regarding relationships. She provides principles that will enable the reader to better understand the dynamics of personal relationships. The book becomes a conduit of love, .. (Spirituality Religion)

Believe That You Can by Jentezen Franklin

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 24, 2008)  The Power of An Unforgettable Dream Jentezen Franklin, New York Times best selling author, shows how a dream, or vision, is nurtured when you “Believe That You Can. " Franklin's writing models the passion, zeal, and holy fire that he challenges his readers to practice. Illustrations from the lives of Abraham, Moses, Joseph, and others from the Old and New Testaments illustrate .. (Spirituality Religion)

Releasing God's Life Through the Hearts of Men by David Case

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 20, 2008)  A Model for Ministering to and Transforming a Self-indulgent Generation "Releasing God's Life" is intended to develop the ground-work for a “one on one" nurturing ministry. It is a model for evangelizing in today's culture. Author David Case begins by establishing an understanding of the relationship of the forces at work in the spiritual realm that impact our daily living and our . (Spirituality Religion)

The Suffering Antidote in Krishna Books

by:
 Victor Epand (December 19, 2008)  A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada translated and wrote many commentaries on Krishna, but more specifically about what he is like in his original, personal form. They are also about he how he is doing in the eternal spiritual world. In the temporary world of manifold miseries, one will understand his transcendental activities that can attain the transcendental platform of eternal .. (Spirituality Religion)

The Divine Embrace by Robert E Weber

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 19, 2008)  Bringing Passion Back into the Spiritual Life "The Divine Embrace" is designed to help today's Christian live out genuine Christian spirituality by taking them back in time for a glimpse of the ancient past. Robert E. Webber supplies the reader with the tools to live out God's story in their lives, individually and in the collective life of the church community. Webber holds to the .. (Spirituality Religion)

As a Man Thinketh - The Small Book That Points to Your Mind As the Maker of Your Circumstances

by:
 Bernard B. (December 18, 2008)  As a Man Thinketh, by James Allen references, the old adage, “As a man thinketh in his heart, so is he. " This simple statement carries with it huge implications of how powerful our thoughts are. According to Allen, we are the makers of our lives. Whatever thoughts we choose to pay attention to influences our feelings and emotions, and therefore our circumstances. Sometimes we .. (Spirituality Religion)

Big Bad God of the Bible by Mark Littleton

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 18, 2008)  Introducing Apologetics to a Contemporary Generation Mark Littleton addresses three specific audiences in “Big Bad God of the Bible. " He offers concrete answers to Christians grappling with unanswered personal questions regarding God and the Bible. He provides a refreshing new approach for equipping the Christian with model answers to the hard questions they are being asked. He .. (Spirituality Religion)

Hebrew Bible (Audio)

by:
 Jeremy P. Thompson (December 18, 2008)  This is a review of The Modern Scholar: The Hebrew Bible audio course download available from Audible. This is a course on the the Hebrew Bible taught by Lawrence Schiffman. He is a widely recognized expert on both the Hebrew Bible in general and the Dead Sea Scrolls in particular. He currently teaches in the Department of Hebrew and Judaic Studies at New York University and has been .. (Spirituality Religion)

The Spontaneous Fulfillment of Desire by Deepak Chopra

by:
 Cheryl A. Chatfield, Ph.D. (December 17, 2008)  Chopra states, “When you live you life with an appreciation of coincidences and their meanings, you connect with the underlying field of infinite possibilities. . . This is synchrodensity, in which it becomes possible to achieve the spontaneous fulfillment of our every desire" (21). To achieve his synchrodensity, we must go inward to tap the deep recesses of our spirit as well as .. (Spirituality Religion)

What Are Angels?

by:
 Amilu Stewart (December 17, 2008)  Angels are mentioned many times in the Bible including 305 times in 34 books. By their own free will they have divided themselves into good angels and bad angels. They are known as guardians, rescuers, messengers and avengers. Good angels appear only in relation to God and humanity in the role of servants. The Greek word “angelos" describes the function or duty of angels rather .. (Spirituality Religion)

Messiah Interviews - Belonging to God by Jerry J Pollock - Book Review

by:
 Paige Lovitt (December 16, 2008)  In the “Messiah Interviews" the author takes us on a spiritual journey through his life as Yoseph. He exposes his imperfections, and shows us how he learned from his lessons. We also learn about the trials that he has been faced with in this life. As Yoseph continues on his journey, he discovers that he has been selected, by heavenly beings, to be interviewed to become the .. (Spirituality Religion)

Lord Heal Me by Richard Mull

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 16, 2008)  A Biblical Basis For Healing Ministry Today As I opened the pages of Richard Mull's book “Lord, Heal Me" I sensed that I was on the brink of a deeper experience of God's love and grace and of His healing power. I felt I was being invited into an experience of meeting God on Holy ground. Richard builds a Biblical foundation with practical aspects of the ministry of healing. He .. (Spirituality Religion)

Talit Ha Cumi - The Secrets of the Prayer Shawl by John Francis

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 14, 2008)  An Ancient Tradition That Can Augment Your Prayer Life In the book “Talit ha Cumi" Bishop John Francis explains how the secrets of the prayer shawl can enhance your prayer life. He begins with the story of one man's disobedience to introduce the historical and scriptural origins of the Jewish prayer shawl, the tallit. It is not the garment itself that makes the tallit special. The . (Spirituality Religion)

The Book of Jeremiah - A Bright Light in a Dark Season By Bette Nordberg

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 14, 2008)  Standing Firm Against Doubt and Pride "The Book of Jeremiah: A Bright Light in a Dark Season" is the third in the “Following God through the Bible Series. " The format of the book is user friendly with summary statements, stimulating questions, charts and maps. The series uses an interactive approach, designed to encourage the reader to apply Biblical truths to their own life .. (Spirituality Religion)

The Seven Mountain Prophecy by Johnny Enlow

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 13, 2008)  A Prophetic Call to Fulfill Christ's Mandate "The Seven Mountain Prophecy" is written to give the reader a clearer vision and knowledge of the study of eschatology. Enlow discusses prophecy with a strategy for accomplishing Christ's Kingdom purpose to impact today's culture. Enlow challenges the reader to “burn with zeal" in a pursuit of prophecy. He prophesies a coming spiritual . (Spirituality Religion)

Praying Genesis by Elmer L Towns

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 11, 2008)  New Insights into New Beginnings "Praying Through Genesis" is number eight in the series “Praying Though the Scriptures. " Dr. Elmer Towns, award winning author has translated the book of Genesis into a paraphrase using idea for idea and then transliterated it into prayers. It is his hope that the reader will discover the significance of the Bible for today's living as well as .. (Spirituality Religion)

When God Shows Up by R T Kendall

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 10, 2008)  God's Nearness and Unexpected Encounters R. T. Kendall, former pastor of Westminster Chapel in London, maintains that God shows up in numerous ways and at unexpected times in our lives. His book “When God Shows Up" offers suggestions to help the reader recognize these unexpected appearances of God. This is a book about renewal and of the blessing the Holy Spirit is bringing into .. (Spirituality Religion)

Anti-Catholic Polemics and Bigotry

by:
 Godwin Delali Adadzie (December 09, 2008)  There has been an escalation in the number of anti-Catholic imagery and rhetoric in recent times. This is the result of traditional anti-Catholicism and fundamentalism as well as the secular anti-Catholicism of contemporary culture. Traditional anti-Catholicism: It is not uncommon to find anti-Catholic extremist equating Catholicism with Satanism. Some popular anti-Catholic .. (Spirituality Religion)

Hebrew-English Interlinear Bibles

by:
 Jeremy P. Thompson (December 06, 2008)  In this article, I would like to help you take a look at the somewhat limited options when it comes to finding a Hebrew-English interlinear Bible. I am a doctoral student in Biblical languages and am fairly familiar with what is available. First, you could try one of the free online versions; however, the websites that have these are often cumbersome to work with and contain links to .. (Spirituality Religion)

The Work Of Christ - Contours Of Christian Theology

by:
 Lawrence Olaniyi (December 04, 2008)  The book “The Work of Christ" by Robert Letham, which is also known as “Contours of Christian Theology", is a series of concise introductory textbook focused on the main themes of Christian theology, lucidly written and clearly presented. Within this framework he explores the issues of Christ and the word of God, the nature and theories of atonement, and the cosmic and .. (Spirituality Religion)

Why Good Arguments Often Fail - Making a More Persuasive Case For Christ by James W Sire

by:
 Jeffrey R. E. Morgan (December 03, 2008)  This book is a work in which the author tries to lay out the case for why good sound logic can and will often fail amongst family, friends, co-workers, acquaintances, and anyone you may not know. In our current culture, why is it that making a sound, reasoned argument for believing in Christ can seem to go nowhere? It may not be for the reasons you think. Sires has split his book into .. (Spirituality Religion)

Irresistible Evangelism - Natural Ways to Open Others to Jesus by Steve Sjogren, Dave Ping, and Doug

by:
 Jeffrey R. E. Morgan (December 03, 2008)  Irresistible Evangelism is a book aiming to help the evangelism efforts of Christians and make their efforts more effective but also attractive as the techniques discussed are easy to implement. The beginning of the book speaks about the “Seven Deadly Sins of Evangelism" which are all too common among those who sincerely have a heart for the lost. This section is intended to shed . (Spirituality Religion)

Find it Quick - Handbook on Cults & New Religions by Ron Rhodes

by:
 Jeffrey R. E. Morgan (December 03, 2008)  Find It Quick is a book that should be in every Christian apologist's arsenal. It is a quick reference that lists 40 different cults / religions and their beliefs. Whether you are just beginning to learn what other religions believe or you need to brush up on the specifics of any one religion this book aims to provide a quick, concise definition of each. The descriptions of each of the . (Spirituality Religion)

The Jesus Who Never Lived - Exposing False Christs and Finding the Real Jesus by H Wayne House

by:
 Jeffrey R. E. Morgan (December 03, 2008)  The writer of The Jesus Who Never Lived seeks to explain who Jesus Christ really was as a real person that existed in history, exposes some of the false Messiahs (Christs) that have appeared in history, and sheds light on some of the current views of Jesus. The book is written in such a manner that it is easy to read and understand. One does not have to be a biblical scholar to .. (Spirituality Religion)

Too Busy Not to Pray - Slowing Down to Be With God by Bill Hybels

by:
 Jeffrey R. E. Morgan (December 03, 2008)  Got a lot going on? Do you think you are too busy to pray? Well, this book shows you the benefits of an active prayer life, an action plan for starting or restarting a prayer life, and also some reasons why we should pray. The author has broken the book down into 4 major sections with a few chapters each. God calls us into his presence, God invites us to talk with him, God breaks down .. (Spirituality Religion)

Classic Christmas Picture Book - The Christ Child by Maud and Miska Petersham

by:
 Lisa Alfelt (December 02, 2008)  Witness a literary nativity when the Petershams’ luminous and memorable children's classic, The Christ Child, enjoys a limited rebirth this holiday season. Maud (1890-1971) and Miska (1888-1960) Petersham were a talented and devoted husband-and-wife illustration team, who wrote and illustrated more than sixty books for children, and illustrated over a hundred works written by .. (Spirituality Religion)

The Way of the Peaceful Warrior and Whole Being Health

by:
 Mark A Ament (December 01, 2008)  In this article, I write about what I call “whole being health. " To do that I'm going to refer to a great little book I recently read called “The Way of the Peaceful Warrior. " The book is a somewhat fictionalized autobiography of Dan Millman's journey toward inner peace as a young man. What's interesting about the book for the purposes of this article is that even though .. (Spirituality Religion)




Related Categories