Already on ArticleSlash?

Forgot your password? Sign Up
  Articleslash »
» SciFi Fantasy Horror

SciFi Fantasy Horror & Book Reviews Article Category 

Articles or Book Reviews about or concerning relating to Science Fiction, Speculative Fiction, Fantasy Fiction, Horror Fiction, Superhero Fiction or Alternate History related.
Latest Articles

Blood-soaked Kindred, Prologue

by:
 Jeffrey Gante (November 08, 2010)  CENTURIES AGO ON THE PLANET HUMUS… A bearded man wearing a brown wool robe rode along an empty dirt road on a wagon, holding the reigns of a horse tightly. A young boy sat next to him. In the back of the wagon were boxes and sacks – supplies for his family. The sun shone brightly, reflecting light in a clear nearby stream to the right of the road. Off to the left were .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Top 10 Best Science Fiction Books

by:
 Ben K (January 15, 2009)  #1: Dune (Frank Herbert) Science Fiction doesn't get much better then this. Dune is every Science Fiction aficionado's wet dream. Many people claim Dune is Science Fiction's answer to “Lord of the Rings" and I have to agree: it sure is. There are many good science fiction books, but Dune is indeed a giant among giants. It truly is a pinnacle of Science Fiction literary .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Science Fiction - The Story of John Titor - Have We Been Visited by a Time Traveler?

by:
 Mark Brad Morris (January 14, 2009)  Time traveling is one of the most intriguing themes within science fiction authors since the 19th century, when HG Wells published his classic “The Time Machine" in 1895. Since then we have seen several works exploring this plot background. This article aims to share an amazing fact (or hoax) that happened back in the year 2000 and introduce readers to the only book published on .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Happy Hour at Casa Dracula - Vampire Novel

by:
 Patricia Altner (January 14, 2009)  Happy Hour at Casa Dracula by Marta Acosta (Pocket, 2006). While reading this book I continually had a smile on my face except when I was laughing out loud. Acosta is a witty, clever writer who keeps your attention with lovable characters (even the bad guys) and an entertaining plot. Narrator Milagro de la Cruz has a rye sense of humor especially while describing the crazy situations .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

The Bride of Casa Dracula - Vampire Novel

by:
 Patricia Altner (January 14, 2009)  Milagro De Los Santos became involved with the vampire community when, in Book 1 Happy Hour at Casa Dracula, she and Oswald Grant accidentally exchanged blood. Afterwards she had acquired certain vampire characteristics - rapid healing, increased strength, rapid movement. In Midnight Brunch the virile, charming Ian Ducharmee gave her an infusion of his own blood in order to save her .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

How to Find a Great Fantasy Novel

by:
 Ben K (January 05, 2009)  It's hard to find a good fantasy novel these days. With more and more terrible fantasy books cluttering the physical and virtual shelves of bookstores, fantasy readers need some way of distinguishing the bad novels from the good ones. Fortunately, you can read this guide for some tips on how to find a good fantasy book. Ignore Book Cover Book covers are deceptive. Most people will buy .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

What Did Orwell See in the Future?

by:
 Nora K Anthony (January 03, 2009)  George Orwell's fantasy of a future world controlled by the Party centers on his working knowledge of doublethink which was used at the time in reshaping the thought patterns of the Russian people. Doublethink alone allows the Party to maintain power because it allows for the indiscriminate altering of the past inorder to suit Party principles in the present. Orwell writes in reference . (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Best Fantasy Books For Urban Fantasy Fans

by:
 Larry Christopher (December 30, 2008)  Fantasy has never been more popular, and urban fantasy is becoming a serious genre all its own. What are some of the best fantasy books for urban fantasy fans? There is no single answer to this, as tastes vary, but there are definitely some authors that appeal to many readers who love this genre. Urban fantasy is an interesting genre, as it involves the mixing of the modern and .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Ender's Game Book Review

by:
 Tim McNabb (December 27, 2008)  Ender's Game is a novel by Orson Scott Card. Lauded with both the Hugo and Nebula awards, it tells the story of genius child Andrew “Ender" Wiggin who is reared to be the military savior of humanity. At the tender age of six, he is whisked off to battle school where warfighters tutor him in the lonely job of commanding Earth's fleet against the alien “buggers" who twice .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Top Military Science Fiction Novels

by:
 Shiromi Arserio (December 22, 2008)  Dorsai by Gordon Dickinson Following Donal Graeme, an extraordinary military mercenary warrior, the novel charts his rise as he hires himself out to other planetary governments. Written in the late 50's, it is an imperfect novel. Donal is of course the unstoppable warrior while his enemies seem less than bright. The dialogue is also rather wooden. But it and the rest of Dickinson's .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

A Description of Vampire Romance Books

by:
 Francis K Githinji (December 20, 2008)  Vampire romance books are one of a kind. They are smitten in mystery and their wild side manages to capture the imagination of many a fan. Stories about vampires have been told for a long time. Vampires are beings which are supernatural and feed on the blood of humans. They are imaginary creatures which have managed to create a name for themselves as the creatures of the night. Many .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Book Review - The Rowan

by:
 Nola Redd (December 17, 2008)  When a mudslide overwhelms the Rowan mining settlement, the only survivor is a three year old girl whose psychic powers alert everyone on her moon to the fact that she is trapped in a mud-covered skiff alone. Ann McCaffrey's novel, The Rowan, follows the growing up of a unique and powerful child into an isolated womanhood, where she finally meets that strong, sensitive man who saves her . (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Book Review - Earthborn

by:
 Nola Redd (December 17, 2008)  Of all of Orson Scott Card's books, “Earthborn" is probably my least favorite. It is not that the novel is not well written - it is - or that it lacks a good story - it does not. But its role as the fifth and final book in a series makes it feel like an incomplete ending. Unlike the rest of the novels in the Homecoming series, “Earthborn" lacks most of the characters we .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Review of "Solon" by Raymond Springer

by:
 Karen Cole (December 09, 2008)  This book started out slowly, building swiftly as the murder investigation ensued. It felt right just before Springer went over the edge, being too obvious and “shocker" about the phrase “serial killer. " My daughter talks about the “creepiness levels" of such prose, citing that in some cases like this, you end up thinking the author regularly eats paint chips or .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

George Orwell's 1984 a Modern Reality?

by:
 Nora K Anthony (December 07, 2008)  1984, startlingly portrays a completely controlled society with unequalled depth and understanding. Key to understanding the way this dystopia works is in the concept of doublethink. Doublethink allows the Party to maintain absolute control over an individual's understanding of her environments and the realities she may face. Doublethink allows the Party to eliminate the idea of an .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

A Book Review of Grayrider - Volume One of the Deathsong Chronicles by Bruce Skye

by:
 Leigh Ann Webster (December 04, 2008)  Grayrider is the first book in a three book series of the Deathsong Chronicles by Bruce Skye. Volume two is untitled, Hard-Favour'd Rage and the third and final book in the series is called, A Dragon's Wrath. Bruce Skye as an author believes that all stories, no matter the genre, first and foremost need to have believable characters that readers can identify with. Without that .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

McCain's Defeat Foretold by Psychic - Glimpses From a Telepathic Sci-Fi & Fantasy Novel

by:
 Marv Lincoln (December 01, 2008)  FADE IN: Leela Powers, a famous Sedona psychic, is driving to a fateful meeting with members of a secret society who plan to take down China with an electromagnetic pulse. The meeting takes place in a small rural town called Page Springs, about 10 miles from Sedona. Leela is equipped with a hidden video camera and transmitter. Her husband, Marty, is the narrator. The flat screen .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Quicksand by John Brunner

by:
 Gail Pruszkowski (November 30, 2008)  QUICKSAND is a multi layered science fiction novel that is a masterpiece of characterization. Dr. Paul Fidler, is the psychiatric registrar at Chent, a hospital for mental disorders in England. Years earlier he himself had a breakdown. Sometimes the unrealized possibilities of his life become so real he mistakes them for memories; his failures seem all too real. At the present he's .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Damnation Alley by Roger Zelazny

by:
 Alan G. Scott (November 30, 2008)  I've enjoyed the movie version of Zelazny's classic work Damnation Alley, but wasn't surprised to find that there was very little in common between the two. Damnation Alley takes place in a post-apocalyptic nuclear war where most of the earth has been destroyed. Only a few pockets of humanity exist in Los Angeles, Salt Lake City and Boston. The mid-section of the country is a .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Implosion by DF Jones

by:
 Gail Pruszkowski (October 28, 2008)  Recently I watched “Children of Men" starring one of my favorite actors, Clive Owen. It's a great blend of science-fiction, action and drama with a thought-provoking premise. The setting is a bleak England in 2027. People have stopped reproducing, although we're never told exactly why, and humankind is facing extinction. Society is in chaos and the only hope is to get the last .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

30 DAYS OF NIGHT - Perfect Halloween Reading and Viewing

by:
 Andrew Hawnt (October 27, 2008)  Steve Niles’ and Ben Templesmith have created a monster. The highly stylized and deeply disturbing 30 Days of Night graphic novel went on to spawn various sequels and a big screen feature film, as well as a TV mini series (Blood Trails) and an online prequel to the movie (Dust to Dust). Why have the tales of Barrow and its vampire visitors proved to be such a hit with comics fans .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Omnibus of Science Fiction

by:
 Gail Pruszkowski (October 10, 2008)  Forty-some years ago my uncle gave me a science fiction anthology, a thick red hardback that I read from cover to cover. It inspired a life long love of the genre. The stories in that book made me think outside the box. They filled me with awe for the imagination it took to write them and sometimes they scared the hell out of me. That book remained in my collection for many years. At .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

A Book Review on the E-book Grayrider by Bruce Skye

by:
 Heather Shockney (October 08, 2008)  Grayrider offers the reader everything they could need in a story. There is romance, sword fights, magic, and more to keep the reader entertained. The story line moves at a fast pace and keeps the reader very involved. I found that I could not put the book down. Grayrider follows the story of Gabriel. His parents were murdered. He then vows to seek revenge on the person responsible for . (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

The Tombs of Atuan by Ursula K LeGuin - Book Review

by:
 Will S. Kalif (September 30, 2008)  The Tombs of Atuan is the second book in LeGuin's Earthsea series of books. At less than 150 pages in length it is a small yet magical book that is suitable for children and adults. This is a perfect book for bedtime stories or if you want something light that won't take a year to finish. The story of this book is pretty straight forward and about a young girl named Tenar who is taken .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Book Review - "Pawn of Prophecy" by David Eddings

by:
 Ann Wamack (September 23, 2008)  The Pawn of Prophesy is the first book of a series by David Eddings called, “The Belgariad. " Like most fantasy novels, this story is a quest. It is set in a mythical land somewhere during an age of knights in armor and swords, similar in technology to The Middle Ages, but the physical setting shares no recognizable geographical landmarks or proximity with our own world. With more . (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

UBIK and UBIK the Screenplay

by:
 Tessa B. Dick (September 23, 2008)  As Hollywood prepares to churn out yet another movie based on the work of Philip K. Dick, the producers blithely ignore the existence of a screenplay written by Philip K. Dick, himself. If you have read the book that was published as UBIK: The Screenplay, you have not read Phil's screenplay. That book has been heavily edited, and others have added material to the screenplay that Phil .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Wizard's First Rule by Terry Goodkind - Book Review

by:
 Will S. Kalif (September 21, 2008)  Wizard's First Rule is the first Terry Goodkind book in the Sword of Truth series which is also the basis for the ABC television series Legend of the Seeker. This is a review of this remarkable book. This isn't your typical epic fantasy book. Yes, it has all of the normal trappings you would expect such as an epic sized quest, plenty of conflict, and of course a dragon or two. This .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

by:
 Scarlett Moore (September 20, 2008)  Dead Until Dark, the first book in the Southern Vampire Series by Charlaine Harris, is set in Bon Temps, Louisiana. It's here, in a local bar called Merlotte's, that we meet our heroine, Sookie Stackhouse. Sookie is a waitress at Merlotte's and on the surface, appears to be the typical girl-next-door. However we soon discover that Sookie has a special talent. She can hear people's .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K LeGuin - Book Review

by:
 Will S. Kalif (August 28, 2008)  In the world of Epic Fantasy there are two series of books that stand above all the rest as masterpieces. Lord of the Rings is one of those series. The Earthsea Series by Ursula K. LeGuin is the other. This is a review of the first book in the Earthsea series A Wizard of Earthsea. As far as fantasy novels go this is a bit counter to the norm. This book weighs in at less than two .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Wicked Gentlemen by Ginn Hale

by:
 Alan G. Scott (August 28, 2008)  My first impression after reading this book is there must be more of the adventures of Belimai Sykes and his lover Captain William Harper. Just inside the front cover, Hale includes two maps of the world of Wicked Gentlemen; one depicting the layout of Crowncross, the Holy Capitol; and Hopetown, also called Hell's Below. Both are elaborate and descriptive with Hopetown having the most .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Hex - A Novel of Love Spells by Darieck Scott

by:
 Alan G. Scott (August 24, 2008)  Hex is not only a novel of love spells, but also the love of relationships, unrequited and sex. It contains elements of the supernatural, occult and horror. Throughout the story and more importantly, it has a wonderful sense of humor. The novel opens in Miami, where news of Castro's death has sent the city into a frenzy of excitement and celebration, especially among the gay Cubans. .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Magic to the Bone by Devon Monk

by:
 Patricia Altner (August 23, 2008)  This is a review of Magic to the Bone by Devon Monk. (Roc, November 4, 2008). The setting is Portland, Oregon where Allie Beckstrom lives in an old apartment she hates because the building stinks of used magic especially when it rains. Although her father is a prominent and wealthy business man, Allie's intense dislike for him means she would rather live in poverty than take any money .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Orson Scott Card - Unalloyed Pleasure

by:
 Peter Damien Ryan (August 23, 2008)  The science fiction and fantasy novels by the master storyteller Orson Scott Card have to be some of the most satisfying top fiction books I have read. It is quite a few years since I have read OSC's books and so I am about to embark on a wonderful return journey - beginning with The Tales of Alvin Maker and "The Songmaster. " It was “The Songmaster" of all his books, that made .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Magician - Master by Raymond Feist - Book Review

by:
 Will S. Kalif (August 19, 2008)  This book is the second book in Feist's Riftwar Saga (the first book is Magician: Apprentice) and in this book we see not only the transformation of our main character from apprentice to master but we also see this same transformation in Feist's writing. The tone, texture, and richness of this novel is significantly different than the first book. In this book Feist builds us a big world . (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

When Worlds Collide and After Worlds Collide

by:
 Richard Hund (August 14, 2008)  I cut my teeth at an early age on books by such noted authors as Arthur C. Clarke, Robert A. Heinlein, Isaac Asimov, E. E. “Doc" Smith and his Skylark of Valeron series, and many more. I read the books discussed here when I was a pre-teen, and was actually disappointed in the 1951 movie when I saw it in the 1970's, so bear with me if I get any details wrong. When Worlds Collide .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Vampyres of Hollywood by Adrienne Barbeau and Michael Scott

by:
 Patricia Altner (August 12, 2008)  When this book arrived in the mail, and I saw that mid-list actress Adrienne Barbeau was one of the authors, my first thought was a has-been decides, when all else fails write a book. I was certain I would hate it, and was pleasantly surprised it did not happen. The story begins with the gruesome murders of three Hollywood A-listers. What the police don't know is that each one is a .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Jack Jacobs and the Doomsday Time Machine, 3rd Edition by Albert S Abraham - Book Review

by:
 Richard R. Blake (August 12, 2008)  Blue Comet Books (2008) ISBN 9780976974420 In the year 2177 Jack Jacobs worked in Area 51 and was assigned as lead scientist to the top secret Advanced Gravity Drive (AGD) project code-named Orion Nine. Jacobs was recognized as one of the top gravity propulsion experts in this field even before he finished his first doctorate. Dr. Brad Gilmore, another Area 51 scientist, was secretly .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Magician - Apprentice by Raymond Feist - Book Review

by:
 Will S. Kalif (August 11, 2008)  There are a lot of epic fantasy series out there. But very few of them have withstood the test of time. This book is one of the best books in the genre of modern epic fantasy and it is the first book in a series called the Riftwar Cycle. If you are looking for an epic fantasy series to dig into this is a perfect starting point. The setting and the scene of the novel The setting is .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

The Vision Quest by Deborah Pratt

by:
 Carine Nadel (August 09, 2008)  The Vision Quest -like most Sci-Fi novels-takes place on earth, in what the creator imagines our planet could be like in a century from now. Cloned humans, humans that have become half-butterfly, droids that appear to be morphing into a state that could essentially destroy all but themselves and the world they perceive as worthwhile. Written by te creator of the Sci-Fi television show . (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Northwest From the City of Ephesus Cam Coo Nick

by:
 Simon T. (August 08, 2008)  There's good reason why Littluns have remained but a myth to the outside world. Northwest from the city of Ephesus Cam Coo Nick and hidden high atop within the impenetrable snow covered exterior walls of Powder Mountain, and secret to the rest of the world is the protected, self-contained, pure and peaceful valley of Hollow Hills. The crater valley is thousands of feet above the base of . (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Sci-Fi Writer Enters Canon

by:
 Winston Burton (July 29, 2008)  However marginalized as a “pulp" or “genre" writer, Dick wrote novels that have from the beginning evoked a passionate response from readers, exciting their imaginations, provoking their fears, and inspiring a devoted fandom. Now, The Library of America, “our quasi-official canon of American literature" according to the New York Times, has published Dick in its .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Looking For My Precious? The Villains From the Lord of the Rings

by:
 Salvador Paez (July 22, 2008)  There have been great fantasy novels in history but none have been quite as important as The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien. And what great story would be where it is without the villains to make it memorable? The following are some of the most important villains in the Lord of the Rings: Sauron- This divine being was once the lieutenant of the first Dark Lord, Morgoth. Since the . (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Breathtaking Awe is a Result From Reading Ann B Kellers Briggen A Science Fiction Fantasy Mix

by:
 Tyler Tichelaar (July 22, 2008)  Ann B. Keller's new novel “Briggen" has all the elements of a great science-fiction novel and a great fantasy novel combined. From the opening pages, I felt I had stepped into a world not unlike that of Conan the Barbarian or Tarzan but then the book alternated into science-fiction scenes worthy of Star Wars. Whatever great book and film series from the past you want to compare it . (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Bring an Elf Or a Dragon to the Beach With You Epic Fantasy Summer Reading Recommendations

by:
 Will Kalif (July 17, 2008)  This summer brings us a lot of great epic fantasy novels both from established authors continuing their series and from new authors with fresh new stories and worlds for you to discover. This article gives you recommendations from among the best and most promising. The Masters release their sequels this summer Many famous and established authors are releasing continuations of their .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Science Fiction Books Unlimited Thrill, Unlimited Fun

by:
 Alden Jerry (July 14, 2008)  The umbrella term “Science fiction" covers fictional books from a wide spectrum of genres. One major factor behind the unprecedented popularity of science fiction books is the springing up of these book publishing houses. Though Science fiction works have been experimented in television serials, movies, games, and in various popular theatrical forms but in the present day scenario . (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

The Top 10 Best Selling UFO Books Reviewed

by:
 Greg Morrisey (July 10, 2008)  UFO Retrievals: The Recovery of Alien Spacecraft This is a collection of accounts and examinations of all cases of alleged landed or crashed alien spacecraft and the secret government action to recover them and keep their remains and their occupants. The Alien Chronicles The Alien Chronicles takes us on a whirlwind tour through the most obvious source for Extraterrestrial encounters - .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Author Kelley Armstrongs Women of the Otherworld

by:
 Patricia Altner (June 28, 2008)  The first Kelley Armstrong story I read was Twilight which appeared in the vampire centered anthology Many Bloody Returns (2007). The vampire Cassandra tells her story and the importance of her rebirth day. The only time of the year when she must kill and drink her victims blood, but this year she feels little need to do the deed even though her very existence depends on it. In a brief .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris (Book 4 in the Southern Vampire Mysteries Series)

by:
 Patricia Altner (June 28, 2008)  After her shift at Merlotte's on New Year's Eve, Sookie drives down the dark, lonely roads of Bon Temp, LA on her way home. She is surprised to see a man wearing only jeans running as if in fear for his life. She is even more surprised when she recognizes him. It is Eric, the head vampire of the area, who resides in Shreveport. Welcome to the world of Sookie Stackhouse, a lady often .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

Pirate Ghosts Tales of Hauntings at Sea

by:
 Alan G. Scott (June 21, 2008)  This compilation of horror shorts written by such literary giants as H. P. Lovecraft, Robert Bloch and Washington Irving promises the reader ‘with bloodcurdling buccaneers, spectral ships, uncanny experiences under the Jolly Roger and eerie spirits from a historic past that refuses to stay dead’. Pretty high expectations, huh? The anthology could have been renamed Caribbean .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)

"Stories at the Edge of Time" by Alan Robbins - Book Review

by:
 Olivera Baumgartner-Jackson (March 25, 2008)  iUniverse (2007) ISBN 9780595471072 I'll be the first to admit that short stories usually cannot hold my attention for very long. More often than not I'll read one or two in a collection; then decide that they are all the same anyhow and I'll give up. Well, this was not the case with Alan Robbins’ collection of science-fiction short stories “Stories at the Edge of Time. " .. (SciFi Fantasy Horror)




Related Categories