Already on ArticleSlash?

Forgot your password? Sign Up
  Articleslash »
» Non Fiction

Non Fiction & Book Reviews Article Category 

Articles or Book Reviews about or concerning published works relating to books written from facts that are true.
Latest Articles

How Engineers Can Fight Back

by:
 Bruce Markey (October 13, 2014)  As outsourcing turns a once-secure career option into a roll of the dice, it’stime for engineers to lose their political inhibitions. Last summer an article appeared in The Wall Street Journal under the headline, “As We Lose Engineers, Who Will Take Us Into the Future?” The piece reported that leaders of industry were increasingly concerned about the low number of .. (Non Fiction)

Book Review of South of the Border, West of the Sun

by:
 Marco Gustafsson (January 16, 2011)  The narrator of Murakami’s novel is a moderately successful jazz bar owner named Hajime. The start of the novel tells of Hajime’s progression from a child into this middle-aged man, and of the youngster’s early ‘perfect’ friendship with a girl named Shimamoto. However, when Hajime moves away he loses touch with the young girl and finds himself unable to .. (Non Fiction)

Book Review: “Fire in the Blood” by Irène Némirovsky

by:
 Marco Gustafsson (October 10, 2010)  Apart from the book’s fictional story, the factual one – how the book came to be discovered and published sixty years after it was written – is fascinating. The author, Irène Némirovsky was born in Kiev in 1903 to a wealthy Jewish banking family. She and her family fled to France at the outbreak of the Russian Revolution. In France, she studied at the .. (Non Fiction)

Conversations on Success

by:
 Hilda Chang (January 13, 2009)  I am in the middle of reading this fantastic book titled: Conversations On Success whereby a series of interviews conducted by David E. Wright who is the President of International Speakers Networks with some super prominent persons include: Jim Rohn, Brian Tracy, Michael Podolinsky, John Gray, Glenn Green to name just a few who generously and openly shared with us their successful .. (Non Fiction)

How to Start Your Own Secret Society by Nick Harding - Book Review

by:
 David Carter (January 08, 2009)  What an unusual book this is. I have never read anything quite like it. Throughout the work I could not make up my mind as to whether it was one giant hoot, or a serious proposition. Either way I found it strangely enjoyable. So if you have struggled in vain to nudge open the door to Freemasonary, or have been rejected by the Rotary Club or the Ancient Order of Buffaloes, worry no .. (Non Fiction)

I Choose to Be Happy Written by Missy Jenkins With William Croyle

by:
 Cy Hilterman (December 31, 2008)  "I Choose to be Happy" is a most magnificent story of a girl that was in the wrong place at the wrong time and has suffered the consequences ever since. Missy Jenkins was fifteen-years old, a happy-go-lucky student in Heath High School in Paducah, Kentucky. Missy was like most other students at that age thinking they were invincible, nothing could happen to them. Their daily routine was . (Non Fiction)

Book Review - How Do I Tell the Kids About the Divorce? By Rosalind Sedacca

by:
 Susan Heim (December 29, 2008)  When I went through a divorce more than 14 years ago, my two children were a baby and a preschooler, and thus weren't old enough to be given too many details. I have often wondered, though, how different it would have been if they had been older. How would I have told them that their father and I were divorcing, and we'd be moving to another home? Would they be scared or cry or begin .. (Non Fiction)

Book Review - I Brake For Meltdowns by Michelle Nicholasen and Barbara O'Neal

by:
 Susan Heim (December 29, 2008)  I've always thought that taking care of babies is a breeze compared to raising toddlers and preschoolers. Parents would definitely have it much easier if there was a “baby boot camp" for children between their first and fifth birthdays. Although these are wondrous years of learning and discovery, they are often overshadowed by power struggles, tantrums, and battles. It can be a .. (Non Fiction)

Book Review - The Baby Name Countdown, by Janet Schwegel

by:
 Susan Heim (December 29, 2008)  Babble recently released its list of “The 33 Worst Celebrity Baby Names, " which included names like Tu Morrow (daughter of Rob Morrow), Fifi Trixibell (daughter of Bob Geldof), Pilot Inspektor (son of Jason Lee), and Kal-El (son of Nicolas Cage). I was surprised to see they left off Tallulah, Rumer and Scout (daughters of Demi Moore and Bruce Willis)! Nobody thinks twice when .. (Non Fiction)

Seeking God While Serving Time - The Faith Journey of Women in Jail by Gail Thomas McKenna

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 22, 2008)  Testimonies of Women Finding Faith While Serving Time in Jail "Seeking God While Serving Time" is a book filled with miraculous testimonies of how women in jail are finding faith while running from God, from self, and facing related struggles. Author and lecturer Gail Thomas McKenna shares stories of many she has ministered to as she serves in a faith based ministry in a county jail in .. (Non Fiction)

Ethics For the Real World - Creating a Personal Code to Guide Decisions in Work and Life

by:
 Alain Burrese (December 15, 2008)  If you thought your child might be e-mailing the wrong people, would you secretly read his or her e-mails? If you are against lying, would it be okay to tell a small white lie to someone with Alzheimer's or to an in-law to “keep the peace?" Can a person be almost ethical? If you are against killing, is it ethical to work for a company that produces weapons? Is there any harm in .. (Non Fiction)

Book Review For "The Audacity of Hope"

by:
 Steph Burkhart (December 02, 2008)  Published in 2006, “The Audacity of Hope" lays out President-Elect Barack Obama's political beliefs in a candid, forthright way that doesn't preach and is easy to grasp. The prologue states Obama's theme that follows him throughout the book - how to make politics fit into our every day civic life. It isn't easy. In today's partisan politics, Obama wants to make it easier for .. (Non Fiction)

Little Boy Broken by Jeremy Todd - Book Review

by:
 Richard R. Blake (October 30, 2008)  "Little Boy Broken" is Jeremy Todd's story. This is a case study of a victim of child abuse and the long-term impact on his life. This is not simply a story of a dysfunctional family. It is a story of unimaginable and unspeakable brutality to a young child. It is all the more appalling by the shocking acts of abuse, physical, verbal, and sexual over a period of twelve years. The story .. (Non Fiction)

Water Voices From Around the World by William E Marks - Book Review

by:
 Irene Watson (October 30, 2008)  Mesmerizing! That is my first comment as I flip through the book. However, that said, this is not a “flip-through" book. “Water Voices from Around the World" is a coffee-table book that takes you on a journey of many hours and days through 400 photographs and over 100 biographies of writers around the world. The letters are from well-known authors, politicians, religious .. (Non Fiction)

Who Lied and Said We Left the Garden of Eden, Written by Daniel Martin

by:
 Cy Hilterman (October 28, 2008)  Daniel Martin grew up in a very abusive atmosphere out of which most people would be unable to climb. Daniel tells of his life and the many struggles he had during his early life and his battle to find a stable platform, whether it be religion, alcohol, drugs, sex, or one of many other negatives in order to reach a normal life, whatever that might be. He had many dreams in his early .. (Non Fiction)

Book Review For "The War Within"

by:
 Steph Burkhart (October 07, 2008)  Written by: Bob Woodward 487 pages ISBN: 1-4165-5897-7 Simon & Shuster Publishing $32.00 5 Stars Book four of Woodward's on the Bush presidency examines the President's decision making process and how he guided the war through 2006 and into the early half of 2008. The writing is crisp and sharp. Woodward's observations and conclusions will stun the reader. Woodward opens the book .. (Non Fiction)

Review of Michael Harvey's Earth 4 Energy Book

by:
 Jide Chen (September 30, 2008)  If you have ever tried to produce your own electricity, you would know how frustrating it can sometimes be especially if you do not know how. Earth 4 energy is a book by Michael Harvey where he promises to show you how to generate your own electricity by using wind and solar power. Much has been said about the book, but here is a review of what to expect from it. The main book is very .. (Non Fiction)

Shattered Reality by Kimberly Cheryl - Book Review

by:
 Irene Watson (September 29, 2008)  Kimberly Cheryl, in “Shattered Reality, " recounts her traumatic experience and emotional journey after finding out her daughter had been sexually assaulted by her uncle; an uncle that was like a second parent to her immediate family. Once out in the open, she was ostracized by the uncle's family, as well as other members of the family. However, Kimberly goes on a mission, with .. (Non Fiction)

My Guantanamo Diary

by:
 Muhammad Yaqoob (September 28, 2008)  Mahvish Khan's book “My Guantanamo Diary" is a quick and light read. She has penned her experiences meeting the detainees at Guantanamo Bay and how translating for the lawyers representing them gave her an insight very few civilians have had. Starting out with her initial interest in the plight of these men she takes us with her as she over comes her own prejudices and wariness .. (Non Fiction)

The Kookies (Kukis)

by:
 Amin Lhanghal (September 27, 2008)  "The Kookies (Kukis)" is an extracted note from the book entitled as “The Wild Tribes of India, " by Dr. Horatia Bickerstaffe Rowney, printed in 1982. The extraction is done for those interested in rebuilding up of the Kuki Nation in particular, and the Kuki people (now named with varieties of newly invented names) in general, trying to understand who we were in the past, are at .. (Non Fiction)

How to Write a Great Query Letter, an Amazon Short

by:
 Gail Pruszkowski (September 26, 2008)  If you're like most writers the dreaded query letter has your head spinning - and for good reason. It's the first step in proposing a writing project to an agent or editor of a publishing house. This one page missive is sometimes all that stands between you and publication. It's imperative to put your best foot forward and make a good first impression. Here's the basics of a good .. (Non Fiction)

A Book Review of Water Voices From Around the World by William E Marks

by:
 Heather Shockney (September 25, 2008)  Water Voices from Around The World offers the reader many letters written from people all over the world. Each letter discusses what water means to them, and their countries. You will find letters from people such as Leonardo DiCaprio, Ted Danson, Mikhail Gorbachev, Peter A. Wilderer, and so many others. The pictures in the book are absolutely amazing. The reader will find beautiful .. (Non Fiction)

Getting Into Guinness by Larry Olmsted

by:
 Alain Burrese (September 21, 2008)  I've always enjoyed reading about the various Guinness World Records, and because of this I found Larry Olmstead's “Getting Inot Guinness" enjoyable. The world of world records can be obsessive for those trying to break records and fascinating to readers. I guess that is why the “The Guinness Book of Records, " after a couple name changes now “Guinness World Records" .. (Non Fiction)

Essentials of Premarital Counseling by Sandra L Ceren - Book Review

by:
 Richard R. Blake (August 25, 2008)  Loving Healing Press (2008) ISBN 9781932690668 "Essential Premarital Counseling" is the seventh book in the New Horizons in Therapy Series published by Loving Healing Press. Dr. Sandra L. Ceren presents a complete ten session premarital program with case studies for discussion, and suggested resolutions. The program uses a proactive group approach with opportunity for extended sessions .. (Non Fiction)

Liberty's Quest by Liberty Kovacs, Book Review, a Memoir

by:
 Richard R Blake (August 23, 2008)  American Dream - Myth and Reality "Liberty's Quest" is an amazing memoir written by Liberty Kovacs. She writes of her family roots which go back to the Dodecanese Islands in the Aegean Sea of Greece. She openly shares stories of her early family life, which was centered on the customs and beliefs of the Greek Orthodox Church. Liberty writes about her paternal and maternal roots, her .. (Non Fiction)

The Slippery Art Of Book Reviewing

by:
 Gail Pruszkowski (August 19, 2008)  Books about the art of book reviewing are few and far between. THE SLIPPERY ART OF BOOK REVIEWING attempts to fill the void. As a reviewer myself I was curious to see what insight was offered to me as well as those just getting started. It was with a great deal of anticipation that I opened my copy. Most people are anxious to express their opinions; readers are no exception. The .. (Non Fiction)

The Time is Now - Sixty Time Pieces For Getting the Most Out of Every Day

by:
 Alain Burrese (August 11, 2008)  "The Time is Now: Sixty ‘Time Pieces’ for Getting the Most out of Every Day by Daniel S. Wolk was not what I expected. This book is not your ordinary time management book. Instead, it is a collection of short essays that cause you to stop and think about how you are spending your time. After all, we all have exactly the same amount of time, twenty-four hours each day. Wolk .. (Non Fiction)

Equal Or Greater Force - Book Review

by:
 Alain Burrese (August 06, 2008)  "Equal or Greater Force" is a very good book regarding survival and self-sufficiency. I was not sure just what it would cover when I purchased it, but the subtitle A Delta Force Veteran Teaches You How to Survive Crime, Terrorism, Natural Disasters, and Other Calamities seemed to fit well with my studies and teachings. I was not disappointed in the least. I enjoyed the book and added to . (Non Fiction)

Real World Self-Defense - A Guide to Staying Alive in Dangerous Times - Book Review

by:
 Alain Burrese (August 06, 2008)  "Real World Self-Defense: A Guide to Staying Alive in Dangerous Times" by Jerry VanCook is a very good addition to any self-defense library. In it you will find practical advice regarding some of the violence that permeates today's society. In Part 1, VanCook explores concepts such as the warrior mindset and attitude, psychological and physiological changes during combat, and the .. (Non Fiction)

Faith in Fakes by Umberto Eco

by:
 Philip Spires (July 30, 2008)  Faith In Fakes by Umberto Eco is a superbly entertaining beginner's guide to semiotics. To what? Semiotics is the study and interpretation of symbols. In our increasingly iconic age, the discipline has much to say, and to do so must delve deeper and wider, into sociology, philosophy and psychology. In this superb selection of essays, Umberto Eco discusses topics as widely spaced as blue . (Non Fiction)

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

by:
 Philip Spires (July 15, 2008)  In Cold Blood by Truman Capote was published in 1966, and is based on events that happened almost fifty years ago. The events were real. This is not a work of fiction. The Clutters, an appropriately surnamed Kansas family, have their own complications within their rambling homestead. What family doesn't? Clutter the father is a farmer. Who isn't in these parts? Life is not so productive . (Non Fiction)

Ghost Ships True Stories of Nautical Nightmares, Hauntings and Disasters by Richard Winer

by:
 Alan G. Scott (July 12, 2008)  The cover of Winer's Ghost Ships trumpets him as the New York Times best-selling author of The Devil's Triangle, released in the early seventies. A quick search on Amazon.com shows not many works since then until Ghost Ships, copyrighted in 2000. Although Winer cites one ‘ghost ship’ incident in 1998, the remainder of paranormal episodes in his 33-chapter, 265-page .. (Non Fiction)

Achieving Prosperity Make a Complicated Personal Life Endeavor Easier

by:
 Patricia Weber (July 07, 2008)  Is investment language intimidating? Do financial goals of security, or pursuing a dream or being worry-free of debt seem out of reach? Building a level of personally defined wealth is within a person's control with investment understanding, sound principles and discipline. Lipscomb honed his personal investment strategies over two decades. His claim is that he became a millionaire .. (Non Fiction)

The Fastest Way to Write Your Book by Dave Haslett Review

by:
 Ellis Silver (July 06, 2008)  I must admit to coming across this book several times before taking the plunge and deciding to finally buy it, and I very nearly didn't buy it at all. I'd already been stung for $97 by another course that promised I could write a book in 28 days, and that turned out to be a complete waste of money. I assumed this was more of the same. Fortunately I was wrong, and I'm very happy to give .. (Non Fiction)

Book Review Switched at Birth

by:
 Heather Froeschl (June 29, 2008)  A memoir with a twist, “Switched at Birth: My Life in Someone Else's World" by Frederick J. George examines the coincidences of life and the sense of humor of fate. Placed in the wrong bassinet in the hospital, Frederick didn't confirm the switch until he was 57, and the parents he had grown up with were already passed on; his birth mother the only parent left to embrace in this .. (Non Fiction)

Ron Rosenbaum Writes About Himself in Shakespeare at War

by:
 Clarence Threepwood (June 20, 2008)  Some thoughts on Shakespeare at War, by Ron Rosenbaum This book is about what scholarly experts in Shakespeare are debating these days. The issues are more interesting than you might think. Why are there variations among the early editions of Shakespeare plays - did the author revise his work, were some editions prepared from the shaky memory of actors, or were the printers to blame? .. (Non Fiction)

Interview With Shireen Jeejeebhoy, Author of "Lifeliner - The Judy Taylor Story"

by:
 Tyler R. Tichelaar (April 01, 2008)  Today, Tyler R. Tichelaar of Reader Views is pleased to be joined by Shireen Jeejeebhoy, who is here to talk about her new novel “Lifeliner: The Judy Taylor Story, " iUniverse (2007), ISBN 9780595445448. Shireen Jeejeebhoy was born in London and spent her formative years in India. In 1968, she arrived in Canada where she attended local public schools before attending the .. (Non Fiction)

"Lifeliner - The Judy Taylor Story" by Shireen Jeejeebhoy

by:
 Paige Lovitt (April 01, 2008)  iUniverse (2007) ISBN 9780595445448 Reviewed by Paige Lovitt for Reader Views (2/08) "Lifeliner" tells the courageous story of Judy Taylor and her battle to survive after an illness forces the removal of most of her digestive system. Her illness began when she was approaching her mid-thirties. She and her husband were enjoying a good life while raising their three daughters in Toronto. .. (Non Fiction)

"Living Consciously, Dying Gracefully" by Nancy Manahan and Becky Bohan

by:
 V. Landes (April 01, 2008)  Nancy Manahan and Becky Bohan team up to write a beautiful tribute to the life of Manahan's deceased sister-in-law in “Living Consciously, Dying Gracefully: A Journey with Cancer and Beyond. " The authors hope not only to remember their loved one in print but to share her extraordinary passage from unthinkable diagnosis to dignified death. "Living Consciously, Dying Gracefully" .. (Non Fiction)

Book Review - Healing Dreams - Exploring the Dreams That Can Transform Your Life

by:
 Henry Reed (April 01, 2008)  In the epilogue to his latest book, Healing Dreams: Exploring the Dreams That Can Transform Your Life (Riverhead Books), Marc Barasch relates the story of his editor trying to envision a simple sound-bite promotion for his book. The editor asked, “How would a healing dream help the average person be effective in their daily lives?" Barasch was, in his own words, “flummoxed" .. (Non Fiction)

The Innocent Man Written by John Grisham

by:
 Cy Hilterman (March 28, 2008)  This is an exceptional true book that John Grisham has given to his readers. The Innocent Man causes the readers to place themselves in the position of a prisoner when they are not guilty but have been charged as guilty and sentenced to death or life without parole. It is not a place anyone would want to be in but rather be FAR from it. The story occurs mostly in Oklahoma in and near .. (Non Fiction)

Writer Within You by Charles Jacobs - A Book Review

by:
 Richard R Blake (March 25, 2008)  Writing for Publication During Your Retirement Years In his book “The Writer Within You" award winning author Charles Jacobs provides the reader with a step by step guide to writing and publishing during the retirement years. This is a “hands on" how to book which covers everything from how to building confidence as a new writer right through to the process of revising, .. (Non Fiction)

Book Review - Opening Day - The Story of Jackie Robinson's First Season by Jonathan Eig

by:
 Jeffrey Caminsky (March 24, 2008)  In our daily lives, we often tend to take the familiar for granted, and mistake what we see around us for the natural order of things. Doing so, we miss not only many opportunities for changing the world for the better; we also miss the chance to bring perspective to the ebb and flow of events, and to understand how the world is constantly changing around us. Change itself is rarely .. (Non Fiction)

Baby Wise Book - A Book Review

by:
 Carmen Benton (March 24, 2008)  On Becoming Baby Wise: The Classic Sleep Reference Guide Used by Over 1,000,000 Parents Worldwide By Gary Ezzo and Robert Bucknam The back cover of the Baby Wise book states that it is an “exciting infant management plan that successfully and naturally trains children to sleep through the night before the age of eight weeks. " Now what parent wouldn't want their baby to sleep .. (Non Fiction)

The Dog Ate It - A Book Review

by:
 Joy Cagil (March 23, 2008)  After the latest reports on how the diet affects the longevity of dogs and the news of a few commercial dog food mishaps, some dog lovers have taken it upon themselves to cook and prepare meals for their pets. This is where the book The dog Ate It: Cooking for Yourself and Your Four-Legged Friends enters to answer the needs of responsible owners who care about their dogs’ diets. . (Non Fiction)

Cradle-to-Cradle

by:
 Christine Pointeau (March 15, 2008)  The greater thing in this world is not so much where we stand as in what direction we are going -Oliver Wendell Holmes Cradle-to-Cradle printed in 2002, was authored by two brilliant human beings, Michael Braungart, chemist, and William McDonough, Architect. It is now in its fifth printing. They propose that the “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle" mind set, though commendable, is not the .. (Non Fiction)

Vietnam Vet Shares Personal Story

by:
 Glenda Bixler (February 25, 2008)  Vietnam: No Regrets One Soldier's Tour of Duty By J. Richard Watkins Goo-oood Morning Vietnam! In an almost journalistic, diary style, J. Richard Watkins presents his own story in Vietnam: No Regrets-One Soldier's Tour of Duty. When a boy becomes a man in Vietnam, we cry with him. We feel his fear. We hear his prayers. And we rejoice when, after it is over, it is to his mother's arms . (Non Fiction)

Book Review - Kindred Spirits - How the Bond Between Humans and Animals Can Change the Way We Live

by:
 Tracey Wilson (December 11, 2007)  This is a Book Review: Kindred Spirits: How the Remarkable Bond Between Humans and Animals Can Change the Way we Live By Allen M. Dvm Ms Schoen This book is a must read for all animal lovers. Dr. Shoen is a veterinarian who truly loves not only his work, but also animals in general. Animal lab testing and the way many of the livestock on farms and elsewhere is treated horrify him. He .. (Non Fiction)

I Can Still Hear Their Cries - Even in My Sleep - McCall\'s Book Demands Attention!

by:
 Glenda Bixler (December 06, 2007)  I've just finished reading a short book by E. Everett McFall-short in volume but not short in message! I Can Still Hear Their Cries: Even in My Sleep is a very personal story. If you read nothing else but the two pages, “The Valley of Despair, aka PTSD, you will come face to face with a man's deepest despair! “So I kissed steel and suckled on a cold blue tube, waiting, .. (Non Fiction)

"Adrian Mole and The Weapons of Mass Destruction" by Sue Townsend - Book Review

by:
 Kit Marsters (November 29, 2007)  Adrian is a familiar literary figure for many readers of a certain age. This is because he's very easy to sympathise with. A lot of his struggles, his questions and his experiences are ones we all face in our daily lives. Throughout the Adrian Mole series we have journeyed with him as he went through puberty, reached his adulthood, got himself into all sorts of trouble but always made .. (Non Fiction)




Related Categories