Already on ArticleSlash?

Forgot your password? Sign Up
  Articleslash »
» Mysteries Thrillers

Mysteries Thrillers & Book Reviews Article Category 

Articles or Book Reviews about or concerning anything related to Mystery Novels, Historical Mysteries or Thriller Fiction
Latest Articles

Warning Signs by CJ Lyons

by:
 Matt McElreath (February 24, 2009)  CJ Lyons presents a powerful and dramatic look into the frenzied world of emergency medicine with her latest addition to the Pittsburgh’s Angels of Mercy Medical Center series, Warning Signs. With circling story-lines, fourth year medical student, Amanda Mason and her co-workers focus on attempting to find the correct diagnosis for mysterious symptoms as Amanda begins to suffer .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

The Gifts of Mystery - Author Elizabeth Peters

by:
 Barbara Peterson (January 15, 2009)  The Murders of Richard III, first published in 1974, was the first Elizabeth Peters novel I ever read. I'm not sure when I first read it, probably in 1976, when I was fifteen, and rather than immediately becoming a fan of Elizabeth Peters, I actually became a fan of Richard III. Who is Richard III, you're asking? Born in 1452, he was the third son of Richard, Duke of York, who wanted .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell Book Review

by:
 Nancy Eaton (January 11, 2009)  Whether it is a secret in your past or a skeleton in your closet, they usually come back to haunt you! Peter was raised by his grandparents. One day he found them brutally murdered. He attended a school where he became friends with Adam Locano who was the son of a Mafia lawyer. They became more like Peter's family and after a time, he became a member of the mob working as a hit man. .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Nemesis by Jo Nesbo Book Review

by:
 Nancy Eaton (January 11, 2009)  Nemesis begins with a startling surprise and does not let up throughout the 500 pages in this book. During a bank robbery, the manager is given only twenty-five seconds to fill a bag with money. The bag was not full within the twenty-five seconds and the hostage was executed. Police Detective Harry Hole is called in to do the investigation. The bank robberies continue and Beate Lonn .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

In the Shadow of the Master - Edited by Michael Connelly - Book Review

by:
 Nancy Eaton (January 11, 2009)  The purpose of this book is to commemorate the 200th anniversary of Edgar Allan Poe's birth. The book is a collection of the best of Poe's tales dealing with mystery and death. I'm sure we can recall the titles like The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart and The Pit and the Pendulum. What makes this book really special is that twenty writers have included essays that describe how Edgar Allan .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Never Tell a Lie by Hallie Ephron - Book Review

by:
 Nancy Eaton (January 09, 2009)  You will never look at a garage sale the same again after reading Never Tell A Lie. David and his pregnant wife, Ivy, decide to hold a garage sale as a means of getting rid of items left in the attic by the previous owner of their home. Melinda, who is someone from their high school past, stops by at the sale. David and Ivy did not recognize her because she looked the complete opposite . (Mysteries Thrillers)

Spenser Doesn't Miss a Beat in Hundred Dollar Baby

by:
 O'Dell Isaac II (January 08, 2009)  Spenser, the protagonist of Robert B. Parker's classic detective series, should be about 70 years old. But a few years back, Parker decided to stop aging him. He's older, maybe a little slower, but Spenser is just as tough, brave and sarcastic as ever in Hundred Dollar Baby, Parker's 34th installment of the series. Spenser gets a visit from April Kyle, the beautiful but troubled young .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Antiques Maul by Barbara Allan

by:
 Alan G. Scott (January 06, 2009)  When I started writing, another author with good intentions told me that parentheses should rarely be used “as in never". But Barbara Allan makes frequent and liberal use of them in her funny story Antiques Maul with hilarious results. I liked the novel as a comedy but not as a mystery. Barbara Allan is the pseudonym of writing duo Barbara Collins and Max Allan Collins. Their .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

The Alibi - Written by Sandra Brown

by:
 Cy Hilterman (January 05, 2009)  Davee Pettijohn was too happy for a woman whose husband had just been found murdered in a hotel room. Lute Pettijohn was a very well known figure about Charlestown who was known to be involved in many unlawful activities. Davee and Lute were also well known as straying from their marriage many times and both knew this fact. Hammond Cross is a county prosecutor who has high hopes of his .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Face Down Among the Winchester Geese by Kathy Lynn Emerson

by:
 Alan G. Scott (January 01, 2009)  Having met the lovely Ms. Emerson at Bouchercon 2008 in Baltimore, I deem it doubtful that she has first-hand knowledge of brothels in London during the reign of Elizabeth I. But after reading Face Down Among the Winchester Geese, I began to wonder. Kathy Lynn has brought the Elizabethan era alive in her previous novels featuring sleuth Lady Susanna Appleton with beautiful imagery and .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

The Servant's Tale by Margaret Frazer

by:
 Alan G. Scott (January 01, 2009)  My favorite part of The Servant's Tale, the second installment in Frazer's excellent Dame Frevisse series, is when a member of a traveling troupe of players quotes a line from Geoffrey Chaucer, which contains an expletive, to a nun. He immediately apologizes but Dame Frevisse is not offended. When she tells him of her connection to the great author, the player is stunned. It's moments .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Harlan Coben and Myron Bolitar

by:
 Peter Damien Ryan (December 30, 2008)  Of the many murder mystery writers around, Coben is well worth your time - and probably needs no introduction from me. This author is just great - although his actual name is somewhat a mystery in itself. Sometimes he is listed as above, other times as Harlen Corben or Harlan Coban! Whatever - I have gone by the name on the book covers. Although his writing is not limited to the Myron . (Mysteries Thrillers)

Will the Real James Patterson Stand Up!

by:
 Peter Damien Ryan (December 30, 2008)  Patterson is one of the best-known and bestselling writers of all time. He is the author of the two bestselling detective series of the past decade, the Alex Cross novels and The Women's Murder Club series, and he has written many other number one bestsellers. In 2007, one of every fifteen hardcover novels sold was a James Patterson title - totaling an estimated 16 million books sold .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Eclipse Written by Richard North Patterson

by:
 Cy Hilterman (December 22, 2008)  I felt like I was reading a current history book while thoroughly enjoying Eclipse. For the world's glut of oil usage, the nation of Luandia was in the forefront. The fictional nation could be any one of many nations in our world today enduring the struggles of the many against the so very few in a battle to exist while fighting an oil corporation along with corrupt leaders of several .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Day of Wrath by Iris Collier

by:
 Alan G. Scott (December 22, 2008)  One of the first things I learned as a mystery writer was ‘don't kill off pets’. Your readers will never forgive you. Iris Collier did not heed this rule, probably to stir up anger in her readers against the perpetrator instead of her. She used such a heinous crime to illustrate the religious fervor and fanaticism of the early sixteenth century monks to hang on to their .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

A Matter of Justice by Charles Todd - Book Review

by:
 Nancy Eaton (December 21, 2008)  If someone is determined to get revenge, they will do it no matter how long it might take. A Matter of Justice begins with an English soldier committing acts of violence against his own soldiers. He and the other person working with him later go on and end up doing quite well in the field of banking. Someone knows what they did and plans revenge even if it takes many years to do it. A . (Mysteries Thrillers)

Daddy's Girl Written by Lisa Scottoline

by:
 Cy Hilterman (December 18, 2008)  Nat (Natalie) Greco was a young teacher attempting to get tenure at the University of Pennsylvania Law School but the attendance in her lecture class in law was so low that she became dejected inwardly, but never letting it show. A fellow professor, Angus Holt, encouraged Nat all he could. Angus taught a clinic at the local prison, Chester County Correctional Institute, a short-term .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Burned - A Tragic Mystery by J A Nevling - Book Review

by:
 Olivera Baumgartner-Jackson (December 16, 2008)  J. A. Nevling's “Burned" is a sad tale indeed. It is a story of sad, small people dealing with the big, bad world and wickedness of people far more experienced and ruthless than them. It is a story of decent, hardworking people, whose one small mistake haunts them until it nearly destroys them. It is a story about pettiness and hurt feelings, about unlimited greed and lust and .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Abducted - The Awakening by Lee Cambule - Book Review

by:
 David Carter (December 08, 2008)  Gareth Oakley is a primary school teacher with problems. He is fighting the demon drink and no doubt the mood swings that come with it. He is still pining over his lost true love, now departed. He goes to bed alone in the small house they once shared, a house full of memories of happier times. When he awakes he has a massive hangover, but that can't be right for he hasn't fallen off .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

The Mephisto Club Written by Tess Gerritsen

by:
 Cy Hilterman (December 08, 2008)  The Mephisto Club is certainly not a run-of-the-mill story. It had to take Tess Gerritsen many hours of research of devil worship, Satan, and several other forces of evil written about in age-old books. Normally I would not like such a story but the way this book entwines current, future, as well as ancient acts and activities creates an interest among even those of us that are .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Sin City - The Hard Goodbye

by:
 Gail Pruszkowski (December 06, 2008)  Graphic novels are all the rage today, and as a result we're seeing more and more movies made from them. Cross a great story with great art and you have the makings of a sure winner. Frank Miller's “Sin City" made the move to the big screen and became a big hit. So many people enjoyed the movie that his books have experienced a great resurgence of popularity and a whole new .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Protect and Defend - Written by Vince Flynn

by:
 Cy Hilterman (December 01, 2008)  Super CIA sleuth Mitch Rapp stars magnificently in this book. Vince Flynn writes fantastic books that move fast and keep your mind active without bogging down. Rapp works for the head of the CIA, Irene Kennedy, as well as being at the President of the United States beck and call constantly. He is a super master at what he does and there are few like him. Other nations throughout the .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Deadly Night by Heather Graham

by:
 Alan G. Scott (November 30, 2008)  Imagine being the recipient of a grand New Orleans mansion, pre-dating the Civil War. That's the scenario that opens Heather Graham's excellent ghost story, Deadly Night. Aiden Flynn and his brothers, Jeremy and Zack, inherit the house upon the death of an aunt whom they never knew existed. It's been neglected and in dire need of fixing up. Oh, yes. It's also haunted. A Confederate .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Brush With Death by Hailey Lind

by:
 Carine Nadel (October 26, 2008)  Brush With Death by Hailey Lind is described as an “art lover's mystery. " I am one of those people who would definitely not bill myself as an art lover, but I know what I like and I liked this Annie Kincaid novel. Annie Kincaid was not always on the right side of the law, in fact her lineage includes a master art forger-her grandfather. Her father took the high road and became a . (Mysteries Thrillers)

Looking For Some Good "Man Lit"? Read These Guys

by:
 O'Dell Isaac II (October 15, 2008)  Recently, Stephen King wrote a column for Entertainment Weekly about the popularity of men's fiction. Rumor had it, he said, that women's fiction - or “chick lit" - had exploded and completely surpassed any other type of popular fiction. Stephen King's position is that male fiction - call it “man lit" - was as healthy as ever. I don't disagree with King's position on this. .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Die Decorator Die Provides Humor, Mystery and Interior Decorator Tips

by:
 Glenda Bixler (October 14, 2008)  Die, Decorator, Die: A Novel of Murder, Greed and Interior Design By Franklin H. Levy Phoenix Books, Inc. ISBN: 978-1-59777-591-5 252 Pages What a Fun Book! Die, Decorator, Die by Franklin H. Levy, is a whodunit that will keep you guessing until the very end! Meet Buzz and Ally Levin. Buzz is a lawyer, while his wife is an interior decorator. There is an underlying interaction between .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Book Review - The Face of Death by Cody McFadyen

by:
 Michelle L Devon (October 14, 2008)  Reading and editing for a living, I've waded through a lot of books. It's been a long time since a book grabbed me, drew me into the story, and kept me turning pages. The Face of Death, by Cody McFadyen not only grabbed me, but it took me by the collar and dragged me across the pages, while keeping me on the edge of my seat. Written in first person, from the point of view of our .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Mystery Novel

by:
 Gordon Petten (October 10, 2008)  A mystery novel is usually a fictional novel synonymous with detective fiction. Usually, a crime has been committed and the main character in the book, usually a detective, amateur or other professional is trying to find out who did it. ‘Whodunit’ novels focus on the puzzle involved and solving that puzzle. Other detective stories may focus on reality and action. Mystery .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Flight to St Antony Written by Tony Blackman

by:
 Cy Hilterman (October 09, 2008)  A twin-engine commercial jet airliner is supposed to fly on one engine in the event one engine fails. Tell that to the passengers and crew of Worldwide Airlines flight 442 flying from London's Gatwick Airport to the Barbados, carrying passengers and crew of 245. When one engine sputters and has to be shut down the crew felt confident that they could fly on one-engine easily and make .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

"Lost Girls" Touches Paranormal and Human Trafficking!

by:
 Glenda Bixler (October 06, 2008)  Lost Girls by George D. Shuman is one of those books you hate to love! The storyline of human trafficking is horrendous; however, the story created surrounding the topic is an exciting, fast-paced thriller that takes you from the cliffs of Mount McKinley to the jungles of Haiti! Shuman is a 20-year veteran of the Washington D. C. , Metropolitan Police Department and he writes with the .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

A Cure For Night - Title Present Interesting Concept!

by:
 Glenda Bixler (October 06, 2008)  "That's what. . . criminal law is: it's how the day tries to correct the night's mistakes. . . "What does that make us? . . . night's janitors? "We're absolutely that. . . a cure for night. " (p. 152) I think I was most intrigued by the concept of Justin Peacock's novel, A Cure for Night. Consider that the majority of crime is committed during night/dark hours; you quickly realize that, . (Mysteries Thrillers)

The Mercedes Coffin by Faye Kellerman Book Review

by:
 Nancy Eaton (October 04, 2008)  Is it possible that two similar execution style murders occurring fifteen years apart are related? Genoa Greeves was a little different from the others in school. She was what you might call a “nerd". The one person she always remembered from school was her favorite teacher, Bennett Alston Little. He had a talk with Genoa and told her she would do very well one day. Dr. Little .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

High-Flying WWII Mystery-Thriller

by:
 Douglas Cobb (October 03, 2008)  The Woman In The Wing By: Jean Sheldon Like reading high-flying WWII novels of adventure and mystery? Then Jean Sheldon's excellent page-turning book The Woman In The Wing is a novel you're sure to enjoy! Sheldon, the author of the popular mystery series featuring Chicago police Detective Kerry Grant, sets this book also in Chicago, but during the WWII era. The contributions women made .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

The Olive Horseshoe

by:
 Carine Nadel (October 03, 2008)  The Olive Horseshoe by Ben F. Small is a mystery that combines his love of the outdoors, his knowledge of the law and of the interesting personalities he must of met in his years as an antitrust attorney. Small has created Billionaire Denton Wright as the main character. Wright is a man who through hard work, cashing in on an internet business and investment savvy would up being a very . (Mysteries Thrillers)

The Vicky Bliss Series by Elizabeth Peters

by:
 Barb Carges (September 30, 2008)  The series consists of six books: “Borrower of the Night " “Street of the Five Moons " “Silhouette in Scarlet" “Trojan Gold" “Night Train to Memphis" and “The Laughter of Dead Kings". Vicky Bliss is a modern day heroine in every way. She is smart, a PHD in Art History, self sufficient, brave and usually practical. She also finds her looks a handicap. . (Mysteries Thrillers)

The Masada Stones - A Novel by EW Bonadio - Book Review

by:
 Richard R. Blake (September 29, 2008)  E. W. Bonadio brilliantly combines ancient history, fast-paced adventure, mythology, and deception in his novel “The Masada Stones. " Aaron Skorsky, an American professor and archeologist, has spent his entire career intrigued by the story of the Masada stones and the legend purporting that Josephus, the Jewish first-century historian had written a retraction of his account .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Chili Con Corpses by J B Stanley

by:
 Carine Nadel (September 29, 2008)  Chili Con Corpses: A Supper Club Mystery by J. B. Stanley is a very tasty murder mystery. This is the third of a series appropriately named “The Supper Club Mystery". I must say that the premise of the book, literally written around a group of friends who call themselves the “Flab Five" and love to cook, reminds me a lot of Diane Mott Richardson's books. For those of you .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Tyrant of the Mind by Priscilla Royal

by:
 Alan G. Scott (September 28, 2008)  The title of Priscilla Royal's second novel featuring Prioress Eleanor of Wynethorpe, Tyrant of the Mind, comes form a seventeenth century play by John Dryden. It is stated in a line from Act 3, Scene 1, “Song of Jealousy". It's very appropriate to this novel where murder nearly takes a back seat to the green-eyed monster. Prioress Eleanor is recalled to her home, Wynthethorpe .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Murder Mystery - The Ingredients For a Great Whodunit

by:
 Mary Webb (September 27, 2008)  A first rate murder mystery story requires the skillful blending of all the essential ingredients necessary to produce a tale which will keep us eagerly turning the page right up the final denouement. By the end of the story, we may quite often feel confident that we have spotted the villain of the piece (It was Miss Scarlet with the Rope in the Conservatory!) only to find that yet .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

High Plains Redemption is Exciting Addition to Series!

by:
 Glenda Bixler (September 25, 2008)  "In a spine-jolting crunch that flattened me against the steering wheel, the Mercury slid under them and their car came down on my hood, leaving my horn blaring and my engine roaring. . . I spun around in the seat, used both feet to push open the door, moved fast. . . and started forward with my pistol in my hand. " (p. 137) Like Fast-paced? Like strong female PI's? Meet. . . . Baby .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Death in the Desert Captivates and Outrages

by:
 Tom Jerome (September 24, 2008)  This controversial, contentious novel proposes that the elusive weapons of mass destruction that Americans have waged a war against are not nuclear missiles and chemically engineered diseases. Rather, the real weapons of mass destruction grow in poppy and coca fields round the world, fields that the United States government subsidizes. An Arab-sponsored Mexican drug cartel is bent on .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

A Matter of Revenge by I Michael Koontz - Book Review

by:
 Olivera Baumgartner-Jackson (September 23, 2008)  I. Michael Koontz's “A Matter of Revenge" follows John Apparite, an extremely successful and resourceful Superagent, through a series of missions set in 1956, the ruthless time of Cold War. Moving seamlessly from New York to London, followed by the French countryside, the divided city of Berlin and then to Belgium, Apparite is not only dealing with the dangers of his missions, but . (Mysteries Thrillers)

Face Down Upon a Herbal by Kathy Lynn Emerson

by:
 Alan G. Scott (September 23, 2008)  As is happily usual, the second novel in a series surpasses the first. Kathy Lynn Emerson's second work Face Down Upon an Herbal, featuring herbalist/sleuth Lady Susanna Appleton upholds this trend. Two years after the first book, Face Down in Marrow-Bone Pie, Susanna's work on herbs has been published but with only her initials, giving the great many purchasers of her book no .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

New Romantic Suspense Novel Takes Indepth Look at Strange Murders Behind Horse Racing!

by:
 Glenda Bixler (September 21, 2008)  "But don't go leaving here with the idea that I don't love you. That would make your leaving way too easy. . . If it's a case that you're expected to marry a Kentucky Blueblood socialite rather than a good, Scottish woman, that's a different story. Then, be on your way. . . " (p. 154) Meet the fiery and beautiful Maggie McGregor, horse trainer extraordinaire, in Patricia A. Guthrie's .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Heartsick - Written by Chelsea Cain

by:
 Cy Hilterman (August 23, 2008)  Gretchen Lowell is a beautiful serial killer that cons her victims into doing things for her or with her, followed by their demise in a slow.deliberate way. Archie Sheridan is an experienced cop who unknowingly falls under Gretchen's spell. Archie wakes up groggy with a body on the floor beside him in a place he did not recognize. How did he get here? Gretchen had placed her services as . (Mysteries Thrillers)

Watches of the Night by Sally Wright

by:
 Carine Nadel (August 23, 2008)  Watches of the Night (Ben Reese Mysteries) is the fifth installment of the author's Ben Reese mysteries. Sally Wright is also an Edgar Award finalist for this series. This particular one not only involves Ben in figuring out your typical murders, but it is meant for the reader to have some insight as to how and when became the man he is when these stories take place. Not having read .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Michael Connelly - Master Crime Writer

by:
 Peter Damien Ryan (August 23, 2008)  For satisfactory recreational reading there is nothing better than a good murder mystery because they are some of the best books to read for relaxation and pleasure. And, we are not talking about potboilers either - there are writers who not only offer interesting characters and good plots (with all the twists and turns); but who are good writers of the language which adds immensely to . (Mysteries Thrillers)

Left to Die by Lisa Jackson

by:
 Tracee Gleichner (August 12, 2008)  Paperback: 484 pages Publisher: Zebra August 1, 2008 Language: English ISBN-10: 1420102761 ISBN-13: 978-1420102765 To purchase, click here. Book Synopsis: In the lonely woods around Grizzly Falls, Montana, four bodies have been discovered. Detectives Selena Alvarez and Regan Pescoli have been hoping for a career-making case but this is a nightmare. Even with the FBI involved, Selena .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Murder in the Rue Dauphine by Greg Herren

by:
 Alan G. Scott (August 07, 2008)  Although I'm not a native of New Orleans, it is one of my favorite cities to visit. Even among the craziest people in the universe during Mardi Gras or the aftermath of a devastating hurricane, she plays gracious hostess with unruly guests, invited and uninvited. Gregg Herren does not use kid gloves discussing his home town. He portrays the Big Easy as the gritty, hot and humid city .. (Mysteries Thrillers)

Rules of Deception by Christopher Reich

by:
 Nancy Eaton (August 05, 2008)  Dr. Jonathan Ransom, a surgeon for Doctors-Without-Borders, and his wife, Emma, are mountain climbing in the Swiss Alps. A storm sets in and it is too late for them to turn back. Emma tries to escape the storm and ends up tumbling on the slope and fractured her leg. Ransom knew he had to get help. His only choice was to leave Emma. Upon his return, he discovered her dead at the bottom .. (Mysteries Thrillers)




Related Categories