Already on ArticleSlash?

Forgot your password? Sign Up
  Articleslash »
» Fiction

Fiction & Book Reviews Article Category 

Articles or Book Reviews about or concerning published works relating to books not factual or true.
Latest Articles

How to Start a Book Club

by:
 Tanisha Williams (February 09, 2015)  If you've wanted to join a book club but haven't found the right fit so far, why not start your own? Hosting your own book club is not as difficult as it may seem. Below are 4 tips on how to start a book club to help make the process as easy and hassle-free as possible. 1. Determine the theme and tone of your book club. Do you want to explore the depths of a particular literary work .. (Fiction)

How to Write a Book Review

by:
 Tanisha Williams (December 15, 2014)  A book review is designed to offer a critical perspective on a given text. When you're writing a book review, you are expected to describe, evaluate and analyze the contents of the book, and then offer your opinion with supporting evidence from the text itself. Learning how to write a book review requires being mindful of several key ideas; below is a basic framework that will help you .. (Fiction)

Science Fiction: A Modern Era Genre Of Fiction Alluring The People

by:
 Ashish Satija (November 12, 2012)  This is the era of science and a number of men and women seem fascinated towards the future inventions of technology. It has given birth to a new genre of writing, which we know today as “science fiction”. You can find a huge demand of the paperbacks on exploring any online books store. These novels ornovellas are being written since more than a century. In the Victorian .. (Fiction)

I too had a Love Story

by:
 Tarun Kumar (December 30, 2011)  ‘I too had a Love Story’ is the debut novel of the author, Ravinder Singh, who beautifully depicts the beauty and power of true love through his own heart touching love story. The past tense in the title of the book makes one curious about it. It is the narrative of the journey of meeting of two strangers, Ravin and Khushi through a matrimonial site to the point, where .. (Fiction)

Revolution 2020 Book Review by Stackkart

by:
 Tarun Kumar (December 21, 2011)  It is story of three childhood friends: Gopal, Raghav and Aarti. The story is set-uo in the holy city of Varanasi. The trio study in the same class and Gopal loves Aarti from the school days. Gopal comes from a middle-class background. Raghav is from a well to do family, where as Aarti comes from a bureaucratic and political family. They have ambitions of their own. Gopal wants to be .. (Fiction)

Norman Mailer's Harlot's Ghost - a major novel on the CIA

by:
 Bobby White (September 03, 2011)  Norman Mailer, once one of the Big White Daddies of 20th century American fiction, has achieved something significant here with this novel. Yes, it is one of his brick-sized achievements - a staggering 1,408 pages in fact - scary, I know - but then even if you don't like it, you can use it to club over the head of a burglar. However, it is worth the read - especially if you are at all .. (Fiction)

Helen Zahavi's Dirty Weekend – One woman's revenge against male violence

by:
 Bobby White (August 28, 2011)  Do you love and relish great opening lines to fiction? Then how about this? "This is the story of Bella, who woke up one morning and realised she'd had enough . . . “ Fantastic, eh? This is strong, provocative fiction whose style is reminiscent of such distinctive writers and their fiction as — sadly many of whom are now either discarded or vastly under-appreciated — . (Fiction)

Tawni O'Dell's novel Backroads - An Oprah Winfrey Book Club Bestseller

by:
 Bobby White (August 23, 2011)  When this Oprah Winfrey Book Club Selection was first published, many reviewers compared it to the perennial bestseller and modern classic of adolescence, The Catcher in the Rye. The view was that Harley Altmyer, the 19-year-old who narrates the story in Back Roads, is very reminiscent of 17-year-old Holden Caulfield's character in J. D. Salinger's novel. Having now read Back Roads (and . (Fiction)

Philip Roth's The Breast - funny, clever, surreal & Kafkaesque: A 20th century classic novella

by:
 Bobby White (August 21, 2011)  This is one of my favourite Roth fictions and has the sort of funny, mad, energetic and brilliant exuberance of Portnoy's Complaint, while being much more absurd and surreal in its premise. There is nothing else quite like it in Roth's oeuvre. From the opening line ‘It began oddly. ‘, you are drawn into a first-person story told by David Kepesh, a literary professor (and the . (Fiction)

Hubert Selby, Jr.'s Waiting Period - a review

by:
 Bobby White (August 18, 2011)  Even if you haven't read any of Selby, Jr. ‘s previous works, you should know you are reading one of the true masters of contemporary (20th century) fiction. Selby has always been uncompromising, since his very first novel that caused such outrage and impact (Last Exit to Brooklyn). Waiting Period focuses on the huge frustration and anger that we all feel about the “forces" . (Fiction)

Neil Gaiman, your favourite author

by:
 Mike Gatusso (August 09, 2011)  Traveling doesn't always have to get done for real like heading to new places to explore different sights and taste new dishes. You can even arrive at travel making use of your mind also. Precisely what you do each time you choose a new book and study through the story in which the author has created for you. So when you are looking for building new worlds among the best authors to .. (Fiction)

Angels Set Supernatural Stories Alight

by:
 Adam R. Singleton (March 31, 2010)  Angels are big at the moment, all it takes is a glance at recent books and films to see it, but this spurt into the spotlight seems very sudden for mythical beings that have been around for centuries. The question of whether angels exist or not certainly isn't a new one, but it's one that has recently been finding itself on the lips of more and more people. It seems that curiosity in .. (Fiction)

The Money Belt by Alan Robertson - Book Review

by:
 Tyler R. Tichelaar (January 14, 2009)  I was very excited to read “The Money Belt" because it is set in my hometown of Marquette, Michigan even though the description of the story sounded far-fetched when I first read it. However, not only did the author do an excellent job of making it clear where all the action was set-for anyone familiar with Marquette, Michigan - but he built an entertaining plot full of colorful .. (Fiction)

Book Review - Kracek by Vito Tomasino

by:
 Ronald Standerfer (January 12, 2009)  A Hero For His Time Who was Kracek? If you have to ask, you probably weren't a fighter pilot during the Vietnam War.  In those days there was a Kracek in most every squadron. Kracek was the hands-down best pilot in the unit. He was the stand out guy who was always calm, decisive, quick on his feet, and did his best work when under stress.  Most importantly, he was the “fearless . (Fiction)

Things Fall Apart Being Reread, Reviewed and Celebrated After 50 Years

by:
 Arthur Smith (January 09, 2009)  Things Fall Apart demonstrates how an Ibo society in pre-colonial Eastern Nigeria which was then in unity before the advent of the white man with every one in the community thinking and speaking alike and held together by common traditional values had that unity suddenly shattered when the Europeans penetrated it. A closely knit and united society thus stands by helplessly as its old .. (Fiction)

Book Review For "Wanting Something More"

by:
 Steph Burkhart (January 08, 2009)  Written by: Kathy Love 340 pages Kensington Publishing Corp. ISBN: 0-39-7614-2 $5.99 4.5 Stars Kathy Love tells the story of Marty Stepp, the supermodel sister in the “Stepp Sister" series. “Wanting Something More, " finds Marty visiting her sisters in Millbrook, Maine during the winter months only to meet up with Nathaniel Peck, a previous paramour that broke her heart. .. (Fiction)

Book Review For "Tales of Beedle the Bard"

by:
 Steph Burkhart (January 08, 2009)  Discover Harry Potter's wizarding world's unique fairy tales in “The Tales of Beedle the Bard. " Filled with wizarding fables that invoke “Grimm's Fairy Tales, " these five short stories carry messages of hope, morality, and virtue. Rowling expands Harry Potter's universe by sharing these magical fairy tales in a writing style that's easy to read and appeals not only to .. (Fiction)

Blog Novel - The Zhongguo Orchestra, Chapter 1, Section 1

by:
 Jos Ilagan (January 04, 2009)  Parliament of the Street There are two methods of fighting: One is by law and the other is by force. The first is of man while the second is of the beast. When the first one is insufficient, One must recourse to the other. -Machiavelli, From the Prince and his Discourses Rizal Park, Manila Yankees go home! Yankees go home! No to U. S. -R. P. bases treaty! Down with the U. S. .. (Fiction)

Death of a Hero by Richard Aldington

by:
 Guy Fraser-Sampson (January 02, 2009)  Death of a Hero was published in 1929 but despite the time lag is very much a product of the First World War, in which Aldington fought, was wounded, and became recognised as a war poet. Incidentally, the distinction of becoming acknowledged both as a novelist and as a poet is a rare one. One thinks of Emily Bronte, Thomas Hardy and Lawrence Durrell (with whom Aldington would conduct a .. (Fiction)

"Follow Your Dream" is the Theme of New Historical Fiction Novel

by:
 Linda Weaver Clarke (January 02, 2009)  When reading historical fiction, the reader feels transported to another time and place. You can go on an adventure, learn about history, feel intrigued by courageous men and women, or fall in love all over again. “Jenny's Dream: A Family Saga in Bear Lake, Idaho" (ISBN 978-1-58982-446-1) is one such novel, where dreams can come true. Melynda Gascoyne of The Amherst Bee .. (Fiction)

Book Review - Roger's Version by John Updike

by:
 David Wisehart (January 01, 2009)  Updike's Version:  New Tryst on an Old Theme John Updike is once again on familiar turf, mixing high theology and low scatology in Roger's Version.   This book is not so much an emotional exercise as it is an intellectual gambit, with the provability of the Almighty serving as its leitmotif.   While trying to prove the existence of the Judeo-Christian God is certainly no new sport, .. (Fiction)

Twilight Book Series

by:
 Laura Fagan (December 30, 2008)  Thank you, Stephenie Meyer. The Twilight book series instantly became one of my favorites and will stay with me for a long time. I have read the entire series, (within a week) and was very impressed by the authors original take on vampire and werewolf lore. The integration of these two fictional species, without all the original story lines and restrictions, was very refreshing, and I .. (Fiction)

Book Review - After Midnight by Patrick Cunningham

by:
 Ronald Standerfer (December 29, 2008)   A Dark, Twisted Journey Through Terror and Death, Volume One Recently I had the opportunity to review a draft copy of “After Midnight, " and it was a scary experience, to say the least.  Not because of the author's writing, which is more a stream of consciousness narrative than anything else; but because of the nightmarish visions of blood, gore and death that the reader must .. (Fiction)

Book Review - The Tinen Killings by J D Solomon

by:
 Ronald Standerfer (December 27, 2008)  A Compelling Murder Mystery Left Over From the Civil War It is April 1898 and America's eyes are focused on the new century and to the war with Spain that was sure to come. For many, the new century promised to be one of innovation and progress. Telephones and electricity were already making their appearance in homes and offices, and rumors abounded about the “horseless carriage" .. (Fiction)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Facts You May Not Know

by:
 Charles Cruz (December 24, 2008)  Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is the final of the Harry Potter novels. J. K. Rowling wrote a total of 7. The books narrate the stories of a young magician who enters the school of wizardry and goes through the troubles and the tribulations of the evil wizard Lord Voldemort, who killed Harry's parents in his quest to conquer the wizarding world and subjugate non magical people to .. (Fiction)

Don't Dance on My Heart by Joyce Brennan

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 22, 2008)  After a devastating relationship Carlene Ledbetter found herself pregnant and alone. She left the security of her sister's home in Kentucky to visit her Aunt Vi in Florida to rebuild a new life for herself and her unborn child. From the opening sentences of chapter on through to the surprise climactic ending in the final chapter, I was hooked on Joyce Brennan's book “Don't Dance .. (Fiction)

Bram Stoker's Dracula - Notes on Sexuality

by:
 S Dey (December 19, 2008)  Bram Stoker's classic Dracula shows symbols of repressed Victorian sexuality. A number of scenes repeat where women have blood-stained nightdresses (denoting the loss of virginity). We see 5 major female characters in Dracula, in form of Lucy, Mina and the three female vampires. Of these, Mina represents ideal of the female sexuality of a Victorian era. Lucy is often described as .. (Fiction)

Kabul - The Kite Runner

by:
 John Parks (December 18, 2008)  The Kite Runner is a complex story written by Khaled Hosseini where simple yet heinous events occur in a backdrop of social and economic upheaval in Kabul, Afghanistan. It is a story of guilt and cowardice and soul-searching and redemption in the life of Amir. However, even with such overt plot lines and possible morals, there is an underlying current spoken in the fine detail with .. (Fiction)

Book Review - Austenland

by:
 Nola Redd (December 17, 2008)  I made the mistake of picking up Shannon Hale's first grownup book at 8:30, looking for a few chapters to read before turning in for the night. I shouldn't have been surprised to find myself closing the book around midnight, having finished. Hale may be gaining notice for her writing in the young adult genre, but “Austenland" proved to me that she really needs to write more .. (Fiction)

Book Review - Den of Lions by Alison Winfree Pickrell

by:
 Ronald Standerfer (December 17, 2008)  A Powerful Story of One Man's Courage and Sacrifice It was an act of incredible courage and sacrifice; one of heroic proportions.  But Timothy Wrenn was not a heroic figure; far from it.  Yet, during a moment of divine inspiration he stepped outside the fabric of his everyday, humdrum existence and did the unthinkable; he took his entire savings and purchased another man's freedom. .. (Fiction)

Witchcraft Magic For Children - Everyone, Brooms and Wands at the Ready!

by:
 Alice Jones (December 14, 2008)  Among the most famous children's book writer today is a British woman named Joanna Kathleen Rowling. This lady, in my opinion, is one of the greatest storytellers of our time. She was the one who brought us the amazing wizarding world of the wizard kid extraordinaire named Harry Potter, the boy who lived. Quite aptly, I first got wind of the “Boy Who Loved" from a kid. I just .. (Fiction)

Rabindranath Tagore - My Favourite Author

by:
 Kh. Atiar Rahman (December 13, 2008)  The first time I had sung the National Anthem composed by Rabindranath Tagore, the rhythm and the tune touched my heart and magnified the love for Bangladesh. I started reading his short stories and poems, which he created for children gave me real pleasure. His power of simplification and showing the beauty of truth within little things for extensive exemplification for which my .. (Fiction)

Charles Dickens, My Favorite Author

by:
 Kh. Atiar Rahman (December 13, 2008)  Dickens wide array of touching characters emphasizes the virtues of sacrifice, comprise, charity, and loyalty. The feelings for the poor, which he expresses in his stories, made me one of his fans and he became my favorite author. Brief Account of the author Charles Dickens was born in 1812 and is still a popular English novelist. He was born to John & Elizabeth Dickens in a small .. (Fiction)

Review of the Breathing Dead by a M Esmonde

by:
 Mike Durke (December 11, 2008)  The back cover reads ‘Dare you read this tale of horror and adventure. Death is always wanting, always waiting. . . ' Firstly the subject matter is unsuitable for younger readers and can be quite graphical at times; it doesn't wait around and throws the reader into the fictional town of Farmore where death, blood and danger are at every turn. For such a short book it really fills .. (Fiction)

2003 Nobel Prize Winner J.M. Coetzee's "Disgrace"

by:
 Jerome Baladad (December 11, 2008)  This is one of those books I got to read while in transit via the subway to and fro my destinations to my other gigs. I have kept this book for over a year now, and thought, and have confirmed that it is actually very readable (I read it in less than 3 days), even with a lot of distractions while on the subway. I would not detail down the story, as it is obviously giving away its very .. (Fiction)

Watchmen - Comic Book Literature, A True Graphic Novel

by:
 Raphael Soohoo (December 10, 2008)  Superlatives can sometimes be given carelessly, and can lose meaning. When one thinks of the ultimate deconstruction of the superhero genre, however, there is one piece that lives up to that superlative. For the past two decades, Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons’ Watchmen has captivated comic book fans and the uninitiated alike. This work paved the way for later writers to write what .. (Fiction)

The Games People Play

by:
 Jean Sheldon (December 10, 2008)  The title of Kay Spang's book, ‘Away Games’ comes from the creative competitions involving a group of lesbians and gays from the Pacific Northwest on which the story is based. How good are the Away Games? So good that a passing Olivia Cruise ship stops at an island to check them out when they hear of the gamers’ presence. They even join in the festivities to help pass . (Fiction)

Book Review - My Sisters by Ann Roth

by:
 Maria Lokken (December 10, 2008)  The Lansing Sisters aren't close; they don't even know each other's phone numbers. But, when a car accident kills their mother Susan, they return home to bury her and pack up their past. Margaret, Rose and Quincy Lansing couldn't be more different, the only thing they have in common is how much they disliked their mother. Carrying the scares from their unhappy childhood they've each .. (Fiction)

Claus - A Christmas Incarnation (Volume 1) By C John Coombes - Book Review

by:
 Paige Lovitt (December 09, 2008)  Self-published Digital e-Book (2008) The tale begins in 1854, when fifty-six-year-old Elizabeth Dennison Claussen is preparing to meet a woman who shared an important childhood experience with her. When Elizabeth's guest arrives, they reminisce about the eventful voyage that they took from Europe to America in the early 1800s. Elizabeth tells the tale of her life beginning with becoming . (Fiction)

Magical Potions

by:
 Peter Damien Ryan (December 08, 2008)  When it comes to some of the best fiction books the Fantasy genre is in a class of its own for richness of storylines and ability to cater for varying tastes. . . . as demonstrated by JK Rowling whose books appeal to a wider audience than her initial target group. Whereas historical novels, for example, can offer many story variations within the whole span of humankind's history, the .. (Fiction)

Fantasy Books

by:
 Daniel King (December 08, 2008)  Fantasy books are the best books there are around. Books help the world revolve around the sun. Some of the fantasy books I have known are The inheritance series, Harry Potter, and Lord of the Rings. There are many more fantasy books in the world. No matter how hard you look you will always be able to find a really good for a really good price. Eragon is one of the best books I have .. (Fiction)

Book Review - A Bomb Shelter Romance by Patrick M Garrity

by:
 Ronald Standerfer (December 03, 2008)  I know I am going out on a limb by saying this; but “A Bomb Shelter Romance" by Patrick Garry is the best book I have reviewed in a very long time! This is a profoundly bold statement coming from a jaded book reviewer who often finds it difficult to finish the books I review without drowning in literary regurgitation. But I have two strong reasons for making this statement and .. (Fiction)

Who Killed Andrei Warhol by Alexander J Motyl

by:
 Ronald Standerfer (December 03, 2008)  Well Done Comrade Motyl! Four stars In early 1968, Oleksandr “Sasha" Ivanov, a determined and passionate young Soviet journalist, came to the United States to write about the impending collapse of America's Capitalistic society. There was little time to waste, for in his view this catastrophic event would take place in just six months; scarcely enough time to record his .. (Fiction)

Review of "Miami Confidential" by James Alexander

by:
 Lisa L Roberts (December 02, 2008)  Miami Confidential is written from the first person perspective of someone caught up in the drug culture in Miami during the time of the Miami riots, and the influx of the Mariel Boat lift. It has some interesting characters and I felt like I had been transported back in time. If you were in Miami during this time it will take you back to the sights and smells of the times. I could .. (Fiction)

Book Review For "A Woman in Berlin"

by:
 Steph Burkhart (December 02, 2008)  "A Woman in Berlin" tells the amazing story of the fall of Berlin in 1945 and the subsequent Russian invasion before the allies arrived. The author paints a riveting picture of the war's aftermath and chronicles in brutal detail what she had to do to stay alive. The novel is told in a journal format and starts on Friday, April 20, 1945. The story is by an anonymous woman who describes .. (Fiction)

Making Waves by Cassandra King

by:
 Joy Cagil (December 02, 2008)  Making Waves is a novel that focuses on the themes of disappointment and repressed desires. The childlike Donnette, a beautician, and her husband Tim live in a small town in Zion County, Alabama. After Tim's recent accident that has left him crippled, Donnette becomes the only breadwinner in the family, since her aunt has left her an old house and a beauty shop, which Donnette names .. (Fiction)

Paulo Coelho - The Alchemist

by:
 Francisco Zangerolame (November 27, 2008)  First time I read the first edition in Portuguese, I was living in Brazil, and this was an amazing book, the story is fiction, but Paulo Coelho, insights about alchemy and transformation, even from his personal experience were amazing. This book tells you to believe in your dreams, and follow then. The book also shows how the Universe is always working to make your dreams come true, .. (Fiction)

Book Review For "The Queen's Secret"

by:
 Steph Burkhart (November 25, 2008)  Jean Plaidy continues her “Queens of England" series with “The Queen's Secret, " a tell-tale look inside the life of Katherine Valois, wife of the great warrior king, Henry V. Plaidy weaves a spellbinding tale of love, lust, greed, and betrayal against the backdrop of the late Middle Ages. History springs alive in Plaidy's writing, engaging the reader from the first word to .. (Fiction)

Book Review For "My Sister is a Werewolf"

by:
 Steph Burkhart (November 25, 2008)  Kathy Love is back with her fourth installment in the Young Series, “My Sister is a Werewolf. " Elizabeth Young has just been reunited with her vampire brothers, but she's got secrets of her own. The biggest one? She's a werewolf. Love's quick pacing keeps the reader on their toes as they devour Elizabeth's story. Elizabeth, also known as Lizzie to her brothers, has gone to live .. (Fiction)

Book Review For "Wanting What You Get"

by:
 Steph Burkhart (November 25, 2008)  Kathy Love weaves a masterful tale of contemporary romance in “Wanting What You Get. " Set in Millbrook, Maine, this is the second installment of the “Stepp Sisters" series. Ellie Stepp works as the town's librarian. Just when she thinks she'll never find love, she's in for a surprise. Love's writing is crisp. “Wanting What You Get" is a satisfying romantic escape to .. (Fiction)




Related Categories