Already on ArticleSlash?

Forgot your password? Sign Up
  Articleslash »
» Comics Humor

Comics Humor & Book Reviews Article Category 

Articles or Book Reviews about or concerning published works relating to Cartoons, Comic Strips, Comic Books and Graphic Novels.
Latest Articles

Taking a Look at DC Vs Marcel Comic Books

by:
 Mike Selvon (January 16, 2009)  Comic books have entertained audiences since the 1930s with their quick, easy-to-read artwork and appealing, over-the-top characters. Behind Batman, Spiderman, Superman, the X-Men or other comic book heroes, there are behemoth enterprises that have dominated the comic book world for decades. While Marvel Comic Books and DC Comic Books have rivaled each other for years, occasionally the .. (Comics Humor)

Batman - RIP - Dead Detective?

by:
 Raphael Soohoo (January 12, 2009)  Batman is one of the most recognized fictional characters in the world, transcending his genre and entering the realm of characters such as Sherlock Holmes, Hercules and Dracula. Batman is simply an incredible modern legend, and this year, Grant Morrison has decided to take the Caped Crusader to his limits. In Batman: RIP, the Dark Knight Detective faces not death but devastating .. (Comics Humor)

Watchmen Graphic Novel Should Be Left a Comic Book

by:
 Joel Owens (January 12, 2009)  Started in 1986, writer Alan Moore and artist Dave Gibbons formulate a mystery based on the Cold War, wherein the threat of nuclear warfare is an imminent fear. The story explores the possibility that superheroes existed in the 1940s. Thus, in the setting of the Watchmen graphic novel, superheroes are roughly classified into two. They are either working for the government, donning their . (Comics Humor)

Why We Suck - A Feel Good Guide to Staying Fat, Loud, Lazy and Stupid by Dr Denis Leary

by:
 Alain Burrese (January 04, 2009)  Denis Leary spares no one in “Why We Suck: A Feel Good Guide to Staying Fat, Loud, Lazy and Stupid. " In this hilarious book, Leary offends just about anyone that could be offended, and you can add a couple more to that list just in case you forget someone. If you don't like four letter words, if you don't like Leary's type of humor, and if you think day-to-day life in America is . (Comics Humor)

Watchmen - A Deconstructed Graphic Novel

by:
 Joel Owens (December 16, 2008)  Watchmen was published in an era when the comic book genre was dominated by superheroes and antiheroes with black and white views about good and evil. It is a parody of the overman in dystopia. A combination of dark, pulp, and deconstructed comic book style, Alan Moore and Dave Gibbon offered something that caters to both comic book aficionados and common readers. Watchmen is not your .. (Comics Humor)

Watchmen Comics - Dispelling the Overman

by:
 Joel Owens (December 16, 2008)  Watchmen comics, the 12-series book created by Dave Gibbons and Alan Moore, is not your usual graphic novel. It is not a rip off of any virtuous and flawless superhero stories we have been used to reading. It is dark, grim, pulp and deviant in every way. Moore's depiction of dystopia means to mirror the modern day dilemmas. The background for the plot is an alternate history of the .. (Comics Humor)

Graphic Novel Reviews - The Problem With Comic Book Critique

by:
 Carl Doherty (December 10, 2008)  Comic book and graphic novel criticism is rarely found outside of niche publications such as Wizard, or the many fan-driven sites that litter the web. Occasionally a mainstream newspaper will publish an article on the medium as a whole, or offer a retrospective on an under appreciated author, usually Alan Moore; but for the most part it is rare to come across comic reviews in any shape .. (Comics Humor)

Book Review - Comic Insights

by:
 Philip Buuck (December 06, 2008)  Since I've just started doing stand-up and am intrigued by what to expect in beginning a stand-up career, I'm very interested in finding out how other people began their careers, and to see what established comics can teach me. Comic Insights is exactly that book for me. Comic Insights was edited by Franklyn Ajaye, a veteran comedian who has gotten to know many of the big names during .. (Comics Humor)

Are Comics Books?

by:
 Carl Doherty (December 06, 2008)  Okay, so that's a stupid question. Or at least it may initially sound like one. In terms of publication and distribution, and their dependency on advertisements, comics are clearly magazines by definition. Which would then make graphic novels compiled magazines. . . which they are clearly (I hope) not. But the fact is that “comic book" is a dirty term in the art world. And though . (Comics Humor)

Is Your Comfort Zone Clouding Your Vision

by:
 Mike Wills (November 27, 2008)  We are creatures of habit. From the moment we wake up and start our morning routines, we go through certain paces that are programmed into our brains. In fact, if you stopped to think about what you're doing, you might throw everything out of whack. What if you reversed the order or your morning hygiene or put on a sock and a shoe, one at a time, instead of both socks and then both .. (Comics Humor)

Marvel Comic Books Dominate Hollywood For Now

by:
 Delio Jimenez (October 29, 2008)  Marvel Comic Books, dominating Hollywood and movie makers all over the place. The last time I counted, Marvel comics was taking it to DC comics, and hard. Quite frankly I do not believe that DC comics can compete. Marvel Comics had laid the foundation of their fruits many, many years ago. This did not occur overnight. Hey I paid the price too, watching those early Saturday morning .. (Comics Humor)

Comic Books - More Than Pretty Pictures

by:
 Eric Brasley (October 27, 2008)  Gary Phillips is a crime and mystery novelist. But, that would be too limiting to express the variety of his endeavors or his interests. In this article from the Books of Soul Newsletter, Gary discusses writing for comic books and graphic novels. Right off let me say that writing for comics is harder than it looks. It is and isn't like writing a prose short story or novella. A lot of .. (Comics Humor)

Marvel Superheroes

by:
 Peter Gitundu (September 23, 2008)  Marvel superheroes have charmed children as well as adults the whole world over. Marvel comics have created superheroes that we have looked up to and so will our children and our children's children. Most of these superheroes have not only been depicted in the comic books but have since moved on to TV shows as well as the big screen. Superheroes like Captain America, Iron Man, Giant .. (Comics Humor)

Marvel Characters

by:
 Peter Gitundu (September 23, 2008)  Hollywood decided long ago that the best way to making more money was to get into the creation of book characters or comic book characters into blockbuster movies. Many of the comic book characters have come from DC comics and off course Marvel comics. The big stars in the DC comics that have become big would be Superman and the Dark Knight who is Batman. Marvel characters that have .. (Comics Humor)

Spiderman Comics

by:
 Peter Gitundu (September 23, 2008)  Spiderman comics have always been on high demand because they are not only bought by children but also by adults who probably read them when they were kids as well. Spiderman comics are a Marvel Comic original that made its debut in 1962 and was written and created by Stan lee and Steve Dikto. In his first appearance in Marvel Comics Spiderman made his debut in a guest appearance spot, . (Comics Humor)

What Wizard Magazine Entails

by:
 Peter Gitundu (September 23, 2008)  The wizard magazine is an information magazine, where you go if you are interested in knowing how much certain comics cost. The Magazine features all kinds of comics and cartoon characters you might be interested in such as the DC comic collections as well as the Marvel comic collection, and not forgetting the Japanese made comic collections which are known as Anime and Manga series. .. (Comics Humor)

Comic Book Values

by:
 Peter Gitundu (September 23, 2008)  I don't know if you feel the same about comic books like I do, but one thing is for sure, I have held on to my first ever comic book for a very long time and I believe now it will probably cost you quite a penny especially since it is mint condition and it is a first series. When shopping for a comic book it is good to learn all you can on that comic especially if it is the rare or hard . (Comics Humor)

What Comic Value Entails

by:
 Peter Gitundu (September 23, 2008)  It's always good to have your comic book appraised by a professional if you are looking to sell it. Comic Value would help you understand what you have in your comic book. There are specifications on how your comic book must look. The glossy cover and the brightly filled pages must still look as good as new or like they have never been read before, even if they have. In fact most people . (Comics Humor)

Marvel Comic Books

by:
 Peter Gitundu (September 19, 2008)  We have read them, throughout the years and have followed them like a cult following and even now as they create more films with our favorite characters we can't help but buy the DVD. Marvel comic books have been around for a long time and have entertained us as kids and still do for most people as adults too. Who can even forget the famous words of the Hulk “smash em" or .. (Comics Humor)

Leisure Daze by Mike Mihalek - Book Review

by:
 Richard R. Blake (August 25, 2008)  RoseHeart Publishing ISBN 9780980150452 An octogenarian lawyer, his vivacious Russian emigrant wife, a younger retired widower, a registered nurse, and two teenagers are pitted against members of a Colombian Cartel drug ring and the president of the homeowners association of a Florida coastal community, in Mike Milhalek's facetious new comedic novel “Leisure Daze. " While fishing .. (Comics Humor)

Comic Book Collecting 101

by:
 Patrick Rittenhouse (August 19, 2008)  Collecting comic books is a source of joy for many comic book and graphic novel enthusiasts.   However, many collectors have trouble finding comics that they feel would be worth collecting and don't really know what to do with them when they do.   There are a number of ways that collectors and comic enthusiasts can find out where to buy, sell and trade collectible comics and other .. (Comics Humor)

Meanwhile - The Impact of Comic Books on Society

by:
 Patrick Rittenhouse (August 14, 2008)  Comic books and graphic novels have long captured the imaginations of children, teens and adults everywhere. Many people have read comics when they were kids, occasionally hiding a comic book inside of a school book in order to read it while their teacher lectured. The frequency of which we would enjoy these tales usually decreased the more we grew into adulthood however, they still .. (Comics Humor)

The Women's Daily Irony Supplement by Judy Gruen

by:
 Carine Nadel (August 10, 2008)  The Women's Daily Irony Supplement is definitely for those of us who are married, have kids and love to laugh. Gruen describes herself as a humor writer and she does know best. I found myself literally laughing out loud while reading about her descriptions on everything from motherhood and marriage to spa treatments and annoying telemarketing situations. If I were a more successful .. (Comics Humor)

Captain America - Part One

by:
 Virgil Vince (August 07, 2008)  The impressively long history of the comic superhero Captain America began in December 1940, a full year before the bombing of Pearl Harbor brought the United States into World War II. “As the ruthless war-mongers of Europe focus their eyes on a peace-loving America. . the youth of our country heed the call to arm for defense, " came the bold declaration on the first page of .. (Comics Humor)

Better Living Through Comic Books - Three Life Lessons From Superheroes For Ordinary People

by:
 Keenan Patterson (August 01, 2008)  Comic book characters are enjoying renewed popularity. Many leaped to film successfully, such as Batman, Spider-Man and the X-Men, and attracted audiences that don't read comics. Good stories can be adapted to many media. Good stories also draw us into the characters and their situations. We can relate to them. We can learn from the ways characters fail or succeed in dealing with their . (Comics Humor)

The Dark Knight Ten of Batmans Most Important Stories in Comics

by:
 Andrew Hawnt (July 29, 2008)  Batman is back, and he's bigger and better than ever. The new series of films featuring the caped crusader himself has seen countless new fans flock to his adventures in print, but with the world of comics being such a daunting prospect to a newcomer, it is easy to get stuck on what to read first. There are many decades worth of Batman reading to be enjoyed, but what are the moist .. (Comics Humor)

Comics in the Classroom

by:
 Jeff Hughes (June 24, 2008)  When I think back in my days in school as my friends and I hid our comics in our desks or lockers so the teachers would not confiscate them or we would get a lecture of how comics would rot our brains "These books have zero educational value!" But I can tell you that comics actually enhanced my learning in such subjects as: English and Grammar, Teachers always thought that their were a .. (Comics Humor)

Kill All Parents The Greatest Superhero Comic Book Ever!

by:
 P Hershon (June 19, 2008)  I just finished reading “Kill All Parents" by Mark Andrew Smith on Image Comics and it it the greatest and funniest Superhero comic book story I have ever read. The writer, Mark Andrew Smith is a genius and the art by Marcelo Di Chiara and his colorist Russ Lowery is awesome. I have to admit, I bought this comic book just for the title. I knew it had to be good! I'm really .. (Comics Humor)

The Silver Age Of Comic Books

by:
 Jay Villaverde (May 13, 2008)  The Silver Age of comic books was a period that lasted roughly a decade and a half from 1956-1970. This period was notable for the drastic increase in popularity of comic books during that time. That increase in popularity came from several sources and the Silver Age of comics paved the way for comics for decades, still influencing comic books from today. The Silver Age of comics .. (Comics Humor)




Related Categories