Already on ArticleSlash?

Forgot your password? Sign Up
  Articleslash »
» Childrens Books

Childrens Books & Book Reviews Article Category 

Childrens Books & Book Reviews Article Category
Articles or Book Reviews about or concerning published works written for children.
Latest Articles

Points To Consider Before Ordering Of College Books

by:
 Ashish Satija (August 31, 2012)  Books shape the carrier opportunity of college student and prepare them in becoming a responsible citizen. Now-a-days various outlets are available in the market to purchase books. However, on broader category there are two medium through which books can be purchased: offline and online medium. Under offline medium conventional form of wholesale and retail book shops come where you look . (Childrens Books)

Childhood Memories Inspire Digital Projects

by:
 Marco Gustafsson (December 16, 2011)  The brand new picture books resource was officially launched a few days ago. The project called uTales has consolidated more than 1,000 professional authors and illustrators from all over the world. uTales creator Nils von Heijne tells to dbReaders.com, that the idea of the project appeared after visiting his grandparent’s summer house. “I found a few old picture books .. (Childrens Books)

Classic Literature for Young Readers

by:
 J D Jackson (June 14, 2011)  Recent research shows that reading to your preschool youngster has numerous, invaluable benefits. A book with simple, artistic binding, and brightly illustrated stories can become a family treasure for many years to come. The parent and child can create lasting memories by sharing time spent reading together. There are so many tried and true classics of bygone generations. Each one in .. (Childrens Books)

Punk Wig - A Children's Book With a Purpose

by:
 Terri Forehand (January 08, 2009)  Punk Wig Author: Lori Ries Illustrator: Erin Eitter Kono ISBN: 978-1-59078-486-0 Publisher: Boyds Mills Press, Inc Punk Wig is an example of a beautiful and entertaining book for children as it not only entertains but educates the child about the side effects of cancer. The main character describes the cancer as “alien blobs" going through his mothers insides. The book has .. (Childrens Books)

Book Review - My Body Belongs to Me by Jill Starishevsky

by:
 Susan Heim (December 29, 2008)  Sexual abuse. It's probably one of the last subjects we want to discuss with our children-or even think about ourselves-but experts say that it's essential to teach our children that certain parts of their body are private. Unfortunately, most children who are being sexually abused fail to tell someone, perhaps because their abuser says it's a secret, warns that someone will suffer if .. (Childrens Books)

Ryann Watters and the King's Sword by Eric Reinhold

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 24, 2008)  Fantasy Fiction for Kids Introduces Spiritual Warfare "Ryann Watters and the King's Sword" describes incredible exploits and adventures of three small town kids who suddenly found their selves experiencing fantasies they had previously lived out only through adventure books. Eric Reinhold's imagination is creative and contagious. I found myself immersed in a world of fantasy, .. (Childrens Books)

Choose Children's Books and Reading Activities That Will Make Reading Fun For Your Child

by:
 Chris Robertson (December 18, 2008)  Convincing your child to fall in love with reading can be a tiring task. That's why it is so important to choose those kids’ books and activities that will make reading fun. Constant motivation is the key to encourage reading for your child. Whether your child is five or ten years of age, you can easily encourage more reading by selecting certain types of books and activities .. (Childrens Books)

Books For Introducing Young Children to World Religions

by:
 Lisa Erickson (December 17, 2008)  In our increasingly multicultural world, many of us are interested in introducing our children to religions other than our own. And what better way to do it than through books? The following list is of books for introducing children ages 3-9 to religions other than their own. Included are two books for each of the five major world religions, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism and .. (Childrens Books)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

by:
 Nola Redd (December 17, 2008)  Like many others, I rushed out last July to purchase the last book in the Harry Potter series. I remember finishing the novel feeling as though it was very well wrapped up, but not particularly enjoying it, and so it has been nearly a year and a half since I picked up the series and read it front-to-back again. I am glad, however, that I did, because I found the book far more enjoyable .. (Childrens Books)

The Lost Secret of Fairies - The Crystal Keeper Chronicles Book 1 by Tiffany Turner - Book Review

by:
 Avery Largent (December 16, 2008)  "The Lost Secret of Fairies: The Crystal Keeper Chronicles Book 1" by Tiffany Turner is a great book about a young girl named Wanda, who becomes a protector, or Keeper, for the fairy clan. She has trouble protecting the fairies because she is stuck between the fairy place and the human world. The author's style was beautiful; not only were her characters very well-developed, but she .. (Childrens Books)

A Book Review of Peef - The Christmas Bear by Tom Hegg

by:
 Denise Willms (December 12, 2008)  "The stockings were hung by the chimneys with care, In hopes that St. Nicholas soon would be there. " -from The Night Before Christmas by Clement Clark Moore or Henry Livingston Does your family celebrate Santa Claus? In some families, he's part of the magic of Christmas, and parents have fun finding ways to keep the Santa magic alive. When I was growing up, my family didn't celebrate .. (Childrens Books)

BRAVE - Be Ready and Victory is Easy by Marjie Braun Knudsen & Jenne R Henderson - Book Review

by:
 Matthew Feliciano (December 09, 2008)  Summertime Press (2008) ISBN 9780981575902 "BRAVE" is about a boy named Danny. He has trouble with a lot of things at school and with life. He is ten-years-old, but age doesn't matter because he has the same problems a lot of kids have. His problems were that whenever he had a test or something, he either had a headache, or had a stomachache and tried to stay home from school. He got .. (Childrens Books)

Review of a River Ran Wild by Lynne Cherry

by:
 Lisa Frase (December 06, 2008)  Engage your students or homeschoolers in an interesting environmental story by Lynne Cherry. A River Ran Wild begins by taking the reader back into time when the Nashua River was home to the Nashua Indians. As settlers moved into the Nashua River Valley and built factories along the river, the River with the Pebbled Bottom became a stink filled sewer. Eventually an effort was made to .. (Childrens Books)

Book Review of the Adventures of Pinocchio

by:
 Shawn B (December 05, 2008)  The complete ‘Adventures of Pinocchio’ as presented in this version, are but a far cry from the dimmed recollections of the story that we remember as children of a small wooden puppet that is afflicted with a nose growing problem every time he lies! In this version - a complete translation from the original Italian - nose length is but a minor and trivial occurrence in the .. (Childrens Books)

Childrens Book Review - Pearls Adventures Volume 2

by:
 Helen Rogers (December 03, 2008)  Children need diversity in their early reading experiences. Childrens books should encourage imagination. If given the choice children need to be introduced to the many facets of life, cultures, and be encouraged to make decisions on information received. A way to provide information for growing minds is there reading material. Pearls adventures covers a life style that is covered by .. (Childrens Books)

Children's Book Review- Pearls Adventures Volume 1

by:
 Helen Rogers (November 28, 2008)  Variety is the spice of life. Children need to have a variety of reading experiences if they are going to learn to make good decisions. Children's books should be food for their thought process. There are two separate stories to each volume. This Manuscript is a story about a bear named Pearl. Pearl lives on a boat with her Mum and Dad. Readers Report: DORRANCE PUBLISHING "The first .. (Childrens Books)

Love You Forever - Book Review

by:
 Terri O'Neale (November 27, 2008)  When I review books they are usually about pregnancy, parenting or breastfeeding. But this time, I thought I would share my favourite children's book with you: Love You Forever by Robert Munsch, illustrations by Sheila McGraw. Even after almost twenty years, I still can't make it to the final page without my voice cracking and my eyes becoming misty. The book is the story of a son and .. (Childrens Books)

For the Love of St Nick by Garasamo Maccagnone

by:
 Richard R Blake (November 26, 2008)  Tiger's Christmas Miracle Life changed dramatically for Tiger when Johnny, his younger brother, Johnny, was born. Tiger's mother died while giving birth to Johnny. Oxygen deprivation at his birth left Johnny listless and with a weakened immune system. Johnny was susceptible to every virus that came along. During Johnny's third year the family moved to the state of Michigan where, the .. (Childrens Books)

The Ark, the Reed, & the Fire Cloud by Jenny L Cote

by:
 Richard R Blake (November 26, 2008)  An Incredible Fantasy Based on Biblical Concepts "The Ark, the Reed, & the Fire Cloud" is a fantasy story and allegorical. The story is reminiscent of C. S. Lewis and his Chronicles of Narnia series. Jenny L. Cote captures the imagination of the juvenile reader to help them understand God's provision and preservation. Cote has created a fresh interpretation of the Biblical story of .. (Childrens Books)

God Has a Purpose For Me by LaRonda Koffi, Illustrated by Victor Guiza

by:
 Richard R Blake (November 26, 2008)  Aya Responds to God's Purpose for Her Life "God Has a Purpose for Me" is a uplifting story with a captivating message for children ages four through seven. LaRonda Koffi's creative narrative and Victor Guiza's beautiful colorful illustrations draw the young reader to respond to this enchanting story. Victor's pictures reflect joy and excitement that endear the Aya and her friends to .. (Childrens Books)

A Wrinkle in Time Book Review

by:
 Tonia Jordan (October 28, 2008)  I recently read A Wrinkle in Time for the second time in my life. Meg Murray's father is a scientist, and he's missing. Along with the help of her brother (Charles), a school friend (Calvin) and some other-worldly friends (including Mrs. Who, Mrs. Which and Mrs. Whatsit), they're seeking to find and retrieve the missing scientist. The three children must travel through time and space .. (Childrens Books)

Books For Girls - Learning Valuable Lessons Through Picture Books

by:
 Karen Gallagher (October 26, 2008)  Books are incredibly influential in shaping the way young girls think, feel and react to various situations in their lives. Girls often relate to the characters in books for girls and pay close attention to the way the female protagonists handle themselves. For this reason, it is important to read books for girls that provide a positive influence. Here is a quick guide to building a .. (Childrens Books)

Heroes Are Made Not Born - Summerland by Michael Chabon - Book Review

by:
 Kate Yu (October 25, 2008)  Heroes have often been born from unlikely mold. From four ordinary children entering a wardrobe, two hobbits carrying an object of great evil, to the emerging of a certain orphan with a scar -these literary figures have proved one thing. Heroes are made not born. It is then the task given, destined to you that ultimately changes you. Great tasks beget great heroes. It is this very .. (Childrens Books)

Fancy Nancy - A Sweet Read For Little Girls

by:
 Karen Gallagher (October 24, 2008)  There are a multitude of wonderful books for children, but only every so often does a book enjoy such wildly popular success that it leads to toy lines and sequels galore. Fancy Nancy is one of those books. It deserves a place on every little girl's bookshelf. Even boys (perhaps secretly) enjoy this delightful story about a girl who appreciates the frilly things in life. So what is it .. (Childrens Books)

The Secret of Yahweh! By LeFerna Arnold-Walch - Book Review

by:
 Richard R Blake (October 15, 2008)  Lessons in Character, Citizenship, and Patriotism In her book “The Secret of Yahweh" LeFerna Arnold-Walch combines mystery, a look at times past, core values, virtues, and patriotism. This is a wonderfully crafted children's novel. Mary, Petey, and Jimmy, are the good kids. Con, Bitsy and their clique of friends are the mean kids. The story begins on the first day of a new school . (Childrens Books)

What Makes a Green Children's Book?

by:
 Cara Louise (October 13, 2008)  An increasing number of parents these days are using the search engines to find “green" books for their children. As more and more people become concerned about the state of the world we are leaving for the next generations, concerned parents are seeking to provide their growing family with books that promote a world view of taking care of the environment, instead of exploiting it . (Childrens Books)

A New Book Series Hits the Shelves, This Time For Girls Aged 9-12 Years

by:
 Henny Reid (October 13, 2008)  'The Littlest Detective in London’ is a book about families. More accurately, the loss of family members, and how different kids deal with the problems associated with loved ones who go AWOL. Now, before you yawn and hit the back button, hear me out. ‘The Littlest Detective’ is also hilarious. It's described by author Suzy Brownlee as a black comedy, but in my view it . (Childrens Books)

Green Children's Books

by:
 Cara Louise (October 12, 2008)  Green children's books - an increasing number of parents are searching for them nowadays. The growing awareness of the need for an ecologically sustainable planet to bequeath to our children has fortunately permeated through to the mainstream. Once upon a time, only a minority were urging a halt to the ever growing destruction of our natural habits. Those of us actively involving in .. (Childrens Books)

Children's Books - Building Your Child's Library

by:
 Karen Gallagher (October 08, 2008)  Reading good books with your child is instrumental in building your relationship and cultivating a love for reading. The hours of quality time together are invaluable, and the developmental benefits to the child are numerous. For these reasons, it is especially important to build a large collection of good books. If your child already has a bookshelf stocked with some favorite titles, .. (Childrens Books)

Tips to Choose Books For Babies, Toddlers and Nursery

by:
 Ferdinand Budiyasa (October 08, 2008)  Reading a book for your babies is not only pleasurable, but it also stimulates their verbal ability, promotes their vocabulary and memory, and expands the emotional parent-baby relationship. When these conditions are met, the children will love to read and they will start the habit of reading independently. Parents are encouraged to provide a range of safe, attractive, durable books for . (Childrens Books)

Books For Boys

by:
 Cara Louise (October 05, 2008)  Books for boys can be hard to choose. Parents who want to encourage the reading habit can sometimes feel that they are fighting a losing battle when their kids eschew books for all the other distractions of the modern boy's existence. Video games, play station, TV, computer games, football, playing with friends, judo, swimming club, chatting on the mobile, surfing the net. . . . there .. (Childrens Books)

Pagan Children's Books

by:
 Cara Louise (October 04, 2008)  Pagan books for children are not always easy to find. A glance through the blogs on Google which deal with Pagan parenting reveals that many parents who want to bring up their children with ideals of living in harmony with nature often have to search hard to to find suitable children's books. Of course, it is not hard to find children's books with magical themes. Alan Garner, C. S. .. (Childrens Books)

What Happened to the Black Kids?

by:
 Amy Wachspress (October 04, 2008)  Have you ever noticed that there are almost no fantasy adventure books for children and young adults with Black characters in them? What happened to all the Black kids? Where are the Black heroes and heroines? Think about it. There are many excellent novels for young people with Black characters; however, they are almost all realistic stories that take place at the time the book was .. (Childrens Books)

Children's E-Books and the New E-Book Reader

by:
 Cara Louise (October 01, 2008)  The new Sony E-Book reader marks a milestone in the book world. The demise of the printed book has has been foretold for decades and each new advance in technology sees the predicted death of the paperback. Television, video, CD, the internet. . . all were heralded as the harbingers of doom for the novel. However, the traditional book that we all know and love continues to enthrall .. (Childrens Books)

Ten Children Books For Daily Reading

by:
 Christie Stockstill (September 25, 2008)  Recently, I asked my friends and family for some advice. I asked them to send me ideas for books to read to my son. He's three-and-a-half, and he loves reading. A lot. As a former English teacher, one might think I would be thrilled about his love of literature, and I am. What I am not thrilled with is the titanic collection of mindless dribble I find in bookstores. The bookstore .. (Childrens Books)

Winnie the Pooh - The Winnipeg Connection

by:
 Morris E. Brown (September 25, 2008)  The famous story book bear character “Winnie the Pooh" has a real life connection back to the city of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. The British author A. A. Milne , who created and wrote the world famous Winnie the Pooh character , named the bear character after a favorite stuffed toy bear owned by the author's young son - Christopher Milne. The interesting question is how, where .. (Childrens Books)

A Bookish Life I Will Always Cherish

by:
 Jamie Quaranta (September 19, 2008)  There is something about my childhood that I think you should know. When I was just two years old, I was diagnosed with a mild form of autism known as Asperger's syndrome. I had trouble talking with others. I had trouble with my handwriting. And, you guessed it, I had trouble reading. But, you'll be happy to know that I did improve upon my reading skills when I was handed my first .. (Childrens Books)

Childrens Books - Wonder World Dream

by:
 Alden Jerry (September 18, 2008)  Children's Books or children's literature is very hard to define and categorised, there is no set genre for children to enjoy. Sometimes, a children's book became more popular and enjoyable by the teenagers and adults and vice versa. The demand for Children's Books has been there from the time memorable and will remain forever. Children's literature or Children's Books can be .. (Childrens Books)

Children's Books - Finding the Moral of the Story

by:
 Michelle Nieblas (September 17, 2008)  Discipline is evolving. Years ago, it was the norm that when a child did something that they weren't supposed to do, he or she was spanked, sent up to bed without dinner, and that was the end of that, until next time. In modern times parents use time out, or grounding to get messages across to their children. Still the consensus among parents is that there is something missing in this .. (Childrens Books)

Usborne Books Popularity Revealed

by:
 Elliott Cross (September 16, 2008)  One of the hard parts of getting your children to enjoy reading is to find something that really draws them in. Whether it is a book that sparks their imagination or the pictures and visual storyline that accompanies the book, kids need to know that reading can be fun. With so many children turning to computer games or other activities, reading has almost become a past-time event. Each . (Childrens Books)

Rainbow Sheep by Kim Chatel - Book Review

by:
 Madeline McElroy (August 25, 2008)  Guardian Angel Publishing (2008) ISBN 9781933090849 The story is about a girl name Genevieve who has white and gray sheep. It was raining really hard one day so she decided to tickle the clouds to get them moving and make the rain stop. Sadly, the rainbow came along and Genevieve wants to cheer him up. She tries to make him happy by showing him all the great things in the world, like .. (Childrens Books)

Maybe We Are Flamingos - A Book Review

by:
 Carma Dutra (August 25, 2008)  Maybe We Are Flamingos is for ages four to eight years and is published by Guardian Angel Publishing. Maybe is a safe word. It does not mean yes and it does not mean no. It gives a person time to think about a problem and prevents impulsive decisions. Maybe We Are Flamingos is a delightful story of two baby Flamingos, Flora and Fernando in the first year of their life. After a few .. (Childrens Books)

Crispin the Cross of Lead - Book Review

by:
 Carma Dutra (August 25, 2008)  Newbery Medal winner of 2003, Crispin The Cross of Lead is an action packed historical novel set in the 1380's of England's peasant revolt. The protagonist is a thirteen year old peasant boy known only as “Asta's Son" (Asta being the boys mother) because he has never been called by his own name. In fact he doesn't know he has a name until his mother dies. The village priest .. (Childrens Books)

Trading Places - Book Review

by:
 Carma Dutra (August 25, 2008)  Trading Places is written by Claudia Mills and published by Farrar, Stgraus and Giroux Amy and Todd Davidson learn that things in life rarely turn out perfectly and that labels don't always fit. Amy and Todd are fraternal twins who get along as well as any other brother or sister except they share the same birthday and the same classroom. This is where the similarity stops. Amy is the .. (Childrens Books)

Harry Potter - Magical Creatures Hanging - Revivify Your Senses!

by:
 Raisa Raima (August 19, 2008)  In today's time, people are completely absorbed in their work that they at times feel lonely and most of them get fed up of their monotonous routine. People choked- off their dull and tedious life. To the rescue, comes the imaginative author J. K Rowling with his hit series of books known as the Harry Potter. These books are fantasy based where the normal life is not seen anywhere, .. (Childrens Books)

Loser - A Book Review

by:
 Carma Dutra (August 19, 2008)  Loser, a middle grade novel for ages nine to twelve was published by Harper Trophy in 2003. Jerry Spinelli's Loser is a special book. The first sentence “You grow up with a kid but you never really notice him" hints that this story may be about a kid with low self esteem. The book is about a kid who really likes himself and accepts himself as he is despite the cruelty of his .. (Childrens Books)

Holes - Book Review

by:
 Carma Dutra (August 19, 2008)  Title: Holes Author: Lousi Sachar Reading Level: Ages 9 to 12 Holes is the 1999 Newbery Medal winner and joins the ranks of classic children's literature. The story begins on a negative note because Stanley is arrested. Soon Holes becomes a story of friendship, family loyalty and yes, love. The Yelnats family has always had bad luck or at least Stanley has been told to believe it until .. (Childrens Books)

Out of the Dust - A Book Review

by:
 Carma Dutra (August 19, 2008)  Title: Out of the Dust Author: Karen Hesse Reading age: 8 to 12 Out of the Dust is a riveting, evocative and mournful story of the Great Depression. Karen Hesse's YA novel narrows the focus of the catastrophic Dust Bowl in the Southwest during the 1930's to a single family living in Oklahoma. Through a series of free verse poems the forlorn voice of fourteen-year-old Billie Jo Kelby .. (Childrens Books)

Charlotte's Web Review

by:
 Monica C Licona (August 18, 2008)  When Opposites Work Together The concept of “Yin and Yang" originated in ancient China. The concept describes two main opposing but complementary forces or principles that are found in objects and processes in the universe. Yin is the darker element, often related to the feminine aspect, and the night. Yang, on the other hand, is associated with the brighter element the masculine .. (Childrens Books)

A Walk in the Rain With a Brain - Book Review

by:
 Carma Dutra (August 16, 2008)  A Walk in the Rain with a Brain is written by Edward M. Hallowell, M. D. This book is designed for four (read to) to eight year olds. Children do not receive enough encouragement to develop their own unique talents, skills and attitudes. Dr. Hallowell's book, A Walk in the Rain With a Brain reinforces the important message that no brain is smarter than the other. Everyone is born with .. (Childrens Books)




Related Categories