Already on ArticleSlash?

Forgot your password? Sign Up
  Articleslash »
» Biographies Memoirs

Biographies Memoirs & Book Reviews Article Category 

Articles or Book Reviews about or concerning published works relating to the Personal Experience or Life of an Author or Events as Remembered by the Author.
Latest Articles

Youth of Becket by Charlotte Mary Yonge: A Historical Account with Lessons for Modern Times

by:
 Bruce Markey (August 26, 2015)  Charlotte Mary Yonge was a nineteenth century English novelist, best known for her works, The Heir of Redclyffe, Heartsease, and The Daisy Chain. Real life stories featured a great deal in her literary pieces; some of them include A Book of Golden Deeds (a collection of true stories of courage and self-sacrifice), Cameos from English History, Life of John Coleridge Patteson: Missionary .. (Biographies Memoirs)

An awesome career graph of the Music Magician David Sylvain

by:
 Anwar Ali (June 10, 2014)  As an artist, Sylvain has a shadow that has stretched across 30 years of music history; his immaculately written lyrics have provided inspiration for a number of artists with his songs of spiritual and emotional quest, singer and composer David Sylvain really occupies his own musical space. David Sylvain is a former English singer-songwriter and musician born in Backenham on 23 February . (Biographies Memoirs)

John Water's Role Models - Not Only a Fun Director But Great Writer as Well

by:
 Bobby White (August 25, 2011)  John Waters is arguably America's most wonderful, funny, quirky and cult film director (who can forget, once seen, the marvels of ‘Pink Flamingos’ and ‘Female Trouble') and, for those who aren't already fans of his journalism as well, John Waters is a natural writer. You can hear his voice as he reflects, shares, meditates and wryly comments on a wide range of topics. .. (Biographies Memoirs)

A wonderful biography of Charles Dickens - his life & work & other biography recommendations

by:
 Bobby White (August 17, 2011)  The prolific biographer Christopher Hibbert rightly has a significant place in the pantheon of great 20th century biographers and he deservedly remains one of the most popular and widely read. It is not just because he was a brilliant researcher, always being careful and absolutely thorough in his consideration of all relevant primary source material, nor - more impressively - his .. (Biographies Memoirs)

H.E.P. Man of the month – John Wooden

by:
 Vijay Batra (January 29, 2011)  No written word, no spoken plea, Can teach our youth what they should be, Nor all the books on all the shelves, It’s what the teachers are themselves. John Wooden, affectionately known as Coach, led UCLA to record wins that are still unmatched in the world of basketball. Throughout his long life, he shared the values and life lessons he passed to his players, emphasizing success . (Biographies Memoirs)

H.E.P. Man of the month – Sumantra Ghoshal

by:
 Vijay Batra (January 27, 2011)  Sumantra Ghoshal (1948–2004) was an academic and management guru. NR Narayana Murthy, Chairman of Infosys Technologies, the leading IT Company in India, said, “He was the rare management guru who brought with him a unique mixture of theory and practice. In his relatively short academic and consulting career spanning nearly two decades, Ghoshal did extensive research and .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Anthropologist and Novelist, Kathy Reichs, Author Biographies

by:
 Elizabeth Lindsey (January 07, 2010)  Kathy Reichs was born Kathleen Joan Toelle in 1950 in Chicago, Illinois. She received a BA in Anthropology from American University in 1971. She received her MA in Physical Anthropology in 1972 and her PHD in 1975 from Northwestern University. She is also professionally trained in archaeology. She is one of only about 60 forensic anthropologists certified by the American Board of .. (Biographies Memoirs)

The Girl Who Loved to Read

by:
 Linda Caminiti (January 14, 2009)  It's a small town not unlike small towns all over the country. Population 900, three churches, one Lutheran , one Catholic and one Baptist. The elementary school is one long rectangular building with classrooms on each side of a long corridor. In the first grade there are a total of 30 kids. In the second grade a total of 25. And as you go up to higher grades, the numbers never vary. .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Reviewing the Pioneering Edition of Frederick Douglass - First Issue of His Newspaper the North Sta

by:
 Arthur Smith (January 10, 2009)  After returning from a triumphal lecture tour in the British Isles with the purchase of a printing press in 1847, Frederick Douglass resolved to launch his own newspaper, the North Star, an African American newspaper to engage the anti-slavery movement politically, and broaden the horizon of his readership greatly. He shared this idea and his rationale with his mentors for, “I .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Aldric Marshall is on the Move!

by:
 Fran Briggs (January 04, 2009)  As a youth, Aldric Marshall was labeled a “slow learner. " That was just the beginning. After wrestling with the unexpected and a confounding series of setbacks, including rejection and growing up in an intensely violent home, Aldric redefined his life. In doing so, a confident, prolific, ambitious leader and author emerged. Today his messages include an ensemble of motivational .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Out of Darkness, Runaway Finds Hope and a New Life

by:
 Emory Daniels (January 02, 2009)  A lot of kids run away from home, or threaten to run away, but few encounter the wide range of adventures and misadventures experienced by Michael Kennon, author of “Memoirs of a Runaway: A Story of Hope. " Kennon ran away from home in his early teens and hitchhiked across America in search of friends, comfort, security, and love. Unsuccessful in finding lasting friends, security .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Fire and Water - A Safe Journey Through Multiple Personality Disorder by Anna F Thomas

by:
 Richard R Blake (December 20, 2008)  An Amazing Story of Unbelievable Torment of Sexual and Ritual Abuse In “Fire and Water" Anna F. Thomas writes of her journey through Multiple Personality Disorder. Anna tells of the anguish, horror, anger, and self hatred she experienced as a victim of childhood ritual abuse. Thomas relates how she came to realize her need to face painful feelings in order to discover the truth of . (Biographies Memoirs)

Ed Viesturs

by:
 Jay Tuk (December 03, 2008)  Ed Viesturs, one of my personal heroes, was the first American to climb all 14 of the world's 8,000-meter summits. He accomplished this remarkable success without the use of supplemental oxygen. Only those who have confronted high altitudes understand the super-human ability required to accomplish this task. I identify with Ed for two primary reasons: 1) His work ethic and attitude on .. (Biographies Memoirs)

A Pig in the Rumble Seat and Other Short Stories by Edward Hujsak - Book Review

by:
 Richard R. Blake (December 03, 2008)  Edward Hujsak has assembled an amazing collection of stories from his own life as well as a broad range of tales of the 1930s depression era in his book “A Pig in the Rumble Seat. " His short stories showcase his highly imaginative creative side. He is laugh-out-loud funny, highly intelligent, and a skillful writer. These attributes came through in his stories, “Escape" and .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Dreams From My Father by Barack Obama

by:
 Terri O'Neale (November 30, 2008)  I am exhausted. In the past 60 hours I have read the most troubling and liberating book of my life. . . Dreams From My Father by now President-Elect Barack Obama. I have followed his unique journey as the mixed race child of an absentee father raised by his mother and grandparents. But the exhausting and troubling part is its commonality with my own experiences. . . and millions of .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Sixtyfive Roses - A Sister's Memoir by Heather Summerhayes Cariou - Book Review

by:
 Olivera Baumgartner-Jackson (November 25, 2008)  Siblings - if you have one or more, you probably know how that goes. . . Can't live with them sometimes, and can't live without them for sure. So often they are our mirrors - in which we see ourselves the way others see us, and at times the way we wish we would truly be. I just cannot imagine losing any of mine, and I realize all too well that they have helped shape me into the human .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Cancer Made Me a Shallower Person - A Memoir in Comics

by:
 Gail Pruszkowski (October 30, 2008)  In 2006 I reviewed an advanced reading copy of this book. Here's what I wrote. "Miriam Engelberg is a wife, mother and cartoonist. She was diagnosed with breast cancer at the age of 43, and has gone through chemo and radiation. But her treatment of choice is humor. Her graphic novel details all aspects of her disease, physical and emotional. Chances are that you know someone with .. (Biographies Memoirs)

On We March - A Memoir of Growing Up in the Salvation Army by Bette Dowdell

by:
 Richard R Blake (October 25, 2008)  Growing Up in the Salvation Army Bette Dowdell cleverly writes a memoir of growing up in the Salvation Army in her book “On We March. " Bette's parents Charles and Josephine Dowdell were both Salvation Army officers. They were dedicated pastors sacrificially living their lives of service to others. Bette has written a beautiful tribute to their lives. Charles and Josephine met .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Civil War Memoirs of a Virginia Cavalryman by Lt Robert T Hubard Jr

by:
 Elizabeth Carr (October 24, 2008)  The Civil War Memoirs of a Virginia Cavalryman by Lt. Robert T. Hubard Jr. was about the wartime adventures of Lieutenant Robert T. Hubard Jr. of the 3rd Virginia Calvary, Company G. Hubard accurately described his ordeal through letters and recollections. He gave reasons for the loss of morale and lack of discipline so prevalent among the Confederate ranks. Hubard praised those .. (Biographies Memoirs)

From Slums to Success

by:
 Adora Mendoza (October 08, 2008)  I am Adora Mota Mendoza, a child from the slums (one of the rural areas in Cavite City) where people built houses on stilts by the sea, a former sponsored child of World Vision International. I am the youngest child, the only daughter of Mr. Apolinar I. Mota and the late Mrs. Felicisima R. Mota. I got 2 elder brothers, Polly and Benny, who are 8 and 7 years elder than me, respectively. . (Biographies Memoirs)

My Life As a Bush - And My Heart For Imitating Jesus by John Morgan - Book Review

by:
 Richard R Blake (October 03, 2008)  A Call to be an Imitator and a Career as an Impersonator John Morgan, a presidential impersonator shares experiences from his life as a George W. Bush look alike. With a flare for comedy tells his story. John suddenly found himself in the limelight during George Bush's campaign for the presidency. After weeks, and months of disciplined study of Bush's voice, facial expressions, stance, .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Steven Vandora - The Winning Landscape Approach

by:
 Mike Zhmudikov (September 30, 2008)  Steven Vandora is the award winning landscape contractor and designer who has been quietly reshaping and planting southern California and beyond for over a quarter century. He's one of those under the radar types that has a list of clients that includes most all of those one word famous household names we all know, as well and heads of the Conglomorate companies that employs said names. . (Biographies Memoirs)

About Biographies - Diego Maradona

by:
 Hans Bool (September 16, 2008)  In Spain it is quite common to read and watch translated works. A movie is often dubbed. That is what I'm thinking of when reading this book. It is hard to write about this book, about this biographer, about politics and soccer and supporters. Most of all about the soccer game: you are either in favor or against. Barcelona or Madrid, Manchester or Liverpool, or in this case, Argentina .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Biography on One of Our Greatest Living Americans!

by:
 Glenda Bixler (August 20, 2008)  In writing the biography of Charles E. McGee, her father, Charlene E. McGee Smith, Ph. D. , in Tuskegee Airman: The Biography of Charles E. McGee, also provides an extensive overview of nearly 90 years of American history! Please consider this a major research effort, which highlights not only the life of a great American, but: An extensive history of the creation and present status of . (Biographies Memoirs)

American Patriot Among War Heroes - The Story of Bud Day

by:
 Ronald Standerfer (August 15, 2008)  As a fighter pilot who saw my share of combat during the Vietnam War, I thought I knew Medal of Honor recipient Bud Day. After all, I was once a member of the elite combat unit he formed to conduct a secret war along the Ho Chi Minh trail during the late 1960s (A unit generally referred to as “Misty" their call sign in combat). But after reading “American Patriot, " I .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Book Review For "John"

by:
 Steph Burkhart (August 13, 2008)  Cynthia Lennon starts her autobiographical tale reflecting on the death of her famous ex-husband, John Lennon and within the first chapter reveals two insights into John's personality that haven't really been discussed before in books about the Beatles. It's a catchy start to a heartwarming, sweet, yet tragic tale. As the book starts, Cynthia is a teenager beginning art college. .. (Biographies Memoirs)

The Shiniest Jewel - A Family Love Story by Mariam Henley

by:
 Gail Pruszkowski (August 09, 2008)  Being familiar with Ms. Henley's cartoons I couldn't wait to open up my advanced reading copy of “The Shiniest Jewel. " For those not familiar with graphic novels this is a story with a complex plot that is illustrated in comic book format. It has a beginning, middle and end and it's aimed at mature readers. This graphic memoir is a powerful look at one woman's emotional .. (Biographies Memoirs)

A Boy's Own Story by Edmund White

by:
 Philip Spires (August 07, 2008)  A reviewer of A Boy's Own Story by Edmund White is presented with a number of problems, In the paraphrased words of one of the book's characters, there may be a lot in the wash, but eventually not much to hang out, and this, by the end of the book, largely summed up what it had delivered. Be reassured, however, that the process of reading A Boy's Own Story is a delight from start to .. (Biographies Memoirs)

The Ones That Got Away - A Dating Memoir by M Hill - Book Review

by:
 Paige Lovitt (August 05, 2008)  "The Ones That Got Away: A Dating Memoir" tells the story of M. Hill's crushes and dating experiences which began in her early teens and takes you to the present where she is approaching her mid-forties. Much of her experience takes place in central New Jersey, where I was raised. It was fun to read about her experiences at some of my old hangouts. I think I even had a crush on one of .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Bertha Koessler-Ilg and Her Mapuche Indian Tales

by:
 Lieselotte Schwarzenberg (August 04, 2008)  "CUENTA EL PUEBLO MAPUCHE" (The Mapuche people tell tales) by Bertha Koessler née Ilg Published by Mare Nostrum Ltda. , Santiago - Chile, 2006 Edited by Rolf Foerster González Translated by Lieselotte Schwarzenberg M. , Ph. D. ISBN, complete edition: 978-84-96391-10-9 ISBN, first volume: 978-84-96391-11-6 Printed in Chile Although the translation of these books from German into .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Book Review - Never Surrender by LTG (Ret) William G Boykin

by:
 Matthew Loe (August 02, 2008)  Ok, here is another good book that I just plowed through in one day. I think I read the thing in about 7 hours with 368 pages. whew! So if that gives you an indicator of how interesting this book was, then take note. My overall impression was that Boykin was a special operations hero who sacrificed much for this country. And after all he gave and all he went through, in the end he got .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Getting Up From Slavery The Climb From Poverty and Bondage of Booker T Washington

by:
 Arthur Smith (July 24, 2008)  Sometimes one could find out that there are people whose abilities and energy take them far beyond any limitations life tries to place on them. Booker T. Washington was one such person. He rose up from slavery and illiteracy to become the foremost educator and leader of black Americans at the turn of the 19th century. For decades, he was the major African-American spokesman. He was .. (Biographies Memoirs)

The Story Behind the Creation of Bizets Heroine in His Famous Opera Carmen

by:
 Amilu Stewart (July 24, 2008)  Georges Alexandre-Cesar-Leopold Bizet was born in Paris on October 25, 1838. An only son, Bizet was deeply devoted to his mother, Aimee, a talented pianist. She taught him his musical notes along with his letter beginning at the age of four. His father, Adolphe, a singing teacher and a composer, continued his musical education by instructing him in elementary music theory. At the age of . (Biographies Memoirs)

How to Write a Suicide Note by Sherry Quan Lee Book Review

by:
 Paige Lovitt (July 23, 2008)  Modern History Press (2008) ISBN 9781932690637 "How to Write a Suicide Note, " is the second book in the Reflections of America Series. The author Sherry Quan Lee took six years to complete her story. The book consists of a series of poignant essays. Ms. Lee is a Chinese/Black woman. Her father was Chinese and her mother was Black. She developed an identity crisis because she was told .. (Biographies Memoirs)

A Full House But Empty by Angus Munro

by:
 Shirley Roe (July 15, 2008)  Genre: Memoir Title: A Full House - But Empty Author: Angus Munro There is definitely a message in Munro's memoir, one that could benefit business people and, more particularly, people in hospital administration. Indeed, Munro's book would be an excellent reading requirement for anyone pursuing a degree in the health care field. A Full House - But Empty is a vivid account of one man's .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Behind Sam Walton The Founder of the Worlds Biggest Company, Wal Mart

by:
 Chirag Jain (July 13, 2008)  I just read the famous autobiography of Sam Walton - ‘Made in America’ . Here is a small book review/note that I have made for my readers. Walton takes the reader from the days when he sold newspapers and magazine subscriptions at the age of 10 to his last days when Wal-Mart was a thousand stores strong. He had always been hard-working and economical: he paid for full .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Book Review General Electrics Charismatic Leader Jack Welch As Seen by His Speechwriter Bill Lane

by:
 Jim Symcox (July 06, 2008)  Bill Lane's book entwines business presentation success with snapshots of General Electric's hot shot CEO - Jack Welch. Bill acknowledges that this book is not an attempt to tell the same stories that Jack Welch has already told in his own books. Rather it is aimed at showing how Bill's own area of expertise, business communication, was honed and used to help Jack waken sleeping giant .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Seven Pillars of Wisdom by TE Lawrence

by:
 Ruth Graham (July 02, 2008)  Not for the faint of heart, Seven Pillars of Wisdom by T. E. Lawrence is of course, well known to serious readers of history and T. E. Lawrence, himself, as played by Peter O'Toole, is well known to cinema devotees. But to read the book, was for me, an awesome and humbling experience. I had tried to read it as a young person, but without success. This time, gritting my teeth, I opened .. (Biographies Memoirs)

The Mysterious Connection Between the Black Dahlia and Fauna Hodel

by:
 Rick Briamonte (June 30, 2008)  As much as I would like to say that I solved the mystery of the murder of Elizabeth Short, a. k. a. The Black Dahlia, I cannot. But the man who did is a retired L. A. Homicide Detective. This is the back story of that mystery; directly connected to the alleged killer. I discovered this infinitely more fascinating story, about 20 years ago by accident. This article is far too limiting .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Biography of Ruth Bell Graham, and Marie Curie, Obsessive Genius

by:
 Geri Brewster (June 24, 2008)  Recently I read two books by authors Patricia Cornwell and Barbara Goldsmith. The two books were: Ruth Bell Graham; An extraordinary life, by author Patricia Cornwell and “Obsessive Genius" by author Barbara Goldsmith. Barbara Goldsmith was one of the authors spoken of by President Bush of accomplished female writers. She did a magnificant work on the life of Marie Curie. Author .. (Biographies Memoirs)

The Greatest Love by Loren Slocum

by:
 Carine Nadel (June 22, 2008)  The Greatest Love- Being an extraordinary mom. with pictures by Brittany Lee Hanson is more than just a beautiful coffee table book. It has all the elements of what a book on motherhood should be: dedication to the art of being a mother, self-help tips for the new parent, support for those of us who are now in a different phase and the photos that capture all of the above. As parents, .. (Biographies Memoirs)

The Man Who Wrote Peter Pan

by:
 Clarence Threepwood (June 20, 2008)  After I've gotten to know an author, I like to find out whether his life matches up with my notions. So the publication of Lisa Chaney's A Life of James Barrie a year or so ago was especially timely, since I'd been working through Barrie's novels and plays over the last couple of years. I wish it hadn't taken me so long to know them. Barrie's importance stretches far beyond Peter Pan, .. (Biographies Memoirs)

Loose Girl by Kerry Cohen

by:
 Nancy Eaton (June 17, 2008)  Kerry was only eleven when her parents divorced. She longed for attention and it did not take her very long to figure out how to get it - by using her body to lure boys and men. Kerry's mother left home to pursue her dream of becoming a doctor. Her father smoked pot and did not provide any supervision. Kerry was, more or less, free to come and go as she pleased often taking trips to New . (Biographies Memoirs)

Artificial Imagination by Kalpanik S - Book Review

by:
 William Phenn (June 04, 2008)  Kalpanik S. is an artificial imagination software program. He has a wife and two daughters and resides somewhere in the United States. I candidly say “somewhere" because one never knows where he will be next. Constantly moving to accept interesting positions with software corporations, Kalpanik does not let moss grow under his feet. Born twice, once in 1988 and then again in 2002, . (Biographies Memoirs)

Ignacio Hernando De Larramendi

by:
 Hans Bool (June 04, 2008)  This is a biography of a man that dedicated his life to one company: Mapfre Ignacio Hernando de Larramendi, . . got listed in the civil war in 1936 to fight in the north of Spain. He was only fifteen by that time. After the war he concluded his studies and received a bachelor's degree in Law in 1941. He said himself that he “accidentally entered the insurance business. First in .. (Biographies Memoirs)




Related Categories